A nightmare
November 13, 2001 - 7:34 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I had a really terrifying nightmare last night. (I swear it was the chestnut-chocolate pie my mom made! ;P)

But what made it so terrifying is that is was so realistic. I mean, it /was/ a dream, so there were certain elements that were obviously impossible, but the rest was just so...real.

See, I was on a school trip. We were on a Greyhound bus because it was a really long trip. We stopped at a little store somewhere so people could get out, stretch their legs, go pee, or buy stuff from the store if they wanted to. So I go in to the store (I was one of the few people who went in) and decide to buy some candy and beef jerky, what I usually buy on road trips. I was the only person who bought anything. And I had to wait for quite a while for the store owner, because she had stepped out for a second. I remember looking out the store window down to her house down below, and saw her through the window talking to my mother. Her name was Donna, though she was a paranoid Donna. Donna is one of my mother's friends, so I was surprised to see her there. My mother doesn't appear again throughout the rest of the dream. So Donna comes along and I pay for my candy and beef jerky and am just turning around and I see the bus pulling out. Now there were a lot of busses passing through; it was a regular stop for buses. I figured a different bus had just pulled out, but no. It was my bus. So I waited, and waited and waited, but the bus didn't come back. It had been crowded so I figure they'd just forgotten to count heads and hadn't noticed yet. So I walked into the nearby town (the store was on the ouskirts) and entered a Safeway store, where I saw Robbie Slade and Brett Anderson. Brett was supposed to be on the field trip too, but he too had been left behind, so we figured we'd go back to the store where they had left me and wait for them to come back. We get to the store and wait for a while, then decide to try and flag down a different bus driver because, well, bus drivers have radios, right? And can contact each other. So we wanted one to contact our bus and say we were missing. So we flagged down a bus driver (another Greyhound) and asked, and he said it was all good, he'd radio our bus. Now all we had to do was wait, so Brett and I went into the little store where we were met by a very hystarical Donna. Now, Donna was seriously paranoid, and she was also terrified of her neighbour, a greying middle aged man who didn't talk much, but watched her all the time. She told us that three other kids had gone missing from our bus, and to look out the front store window so we did, and there was the bus driver and the neighbour, bearing down on us with long, double-edged knives. And we're like, eeeek! And so Donna drags us out the side door and we run down the stairs to her house, and for some reason try to seal out the two guys with beeswax. Go figure. It was a dream. Her house was very clean (except for the beeswax) and a pale yellow, with a high ceiling and very little furniture. There was one chair and a tub of water, like a troff, at the far end of the room. Naturally, the beeswax did dick-all to keep out two guys with knives, and Donna threw herself in front of us and screamed for us to put our heads in the tub of water. And we're like...uh...crazy lady...But she kept telling us to do it as the two men were slicing her up, so we did, and what did we see? Yup. You guessed it. Two of the missing students from the bus, staring lifeless up at us. And so we were like AIIIIEEEEE! and stand up just as Donna drops dead and the two men were stepping around her, advancing on us with a kind of delighted glee...then my mother woke me up.

Seriously, I've only had two nightmares in my life, and that was one of them. The other one was an escaped phsyco killer who caught me home alone, cornered me upstairs, and started torturing me with razorblades. I didn't have anyone to wake me up that time. I don't know which was scarier, though.

I've been feeling really weird ever since. I didn't wake up as I normally do, in a smooth, happy kind of way. It was rocky and uneasy and confused.

Scary.

.

Rosie.

Before&After