Nine hours less work
July 15, 2003 - 10:25 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

So I tried to justify giving up nine more hours at work to do summer theatre to my dad last night.

Dad:

"Why the hell did you do *that*? You need to make all the money you can!"

Me:

"I realize this, dad, but essentially I'm giving up nine more hours of work to further my education.

"Because this is the largest part I've ever gotten, it will look very good on my acting resume. On the other hand, work is work. This is a once in a lifetime thing."

Dad:

"But that's besides the point! You should still be working as much as you can."

Me:

"I am, but it just so happens I'm also getting one on one vocal training during this play, and that's very important."

Dad:

"...one on one vocal training? With who? Why?"

Me:

"With Allison--" (The vocal director for almost all summer productions; she's a professional soprano, and *really* good) "--because I'm a main part I have several songs specifically around me. Naturally I will be getting one on one vocal training."

Dad:

"I still don't like it."

Me:

"I know."

And that's the way it went down. Or up. It was hard to tell.

.

Rosie.

Before&After