A visit from Alpine
January 10, 2004 - 5:17 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Allan came by.

Remember Al?

Al's roommates didn't like his much 'cause he stayed home all the time, ate everybody else's groceries, and never did dishes.

And he had two classes. And he flunked 'em.

So he's going back to Lethbridge.

He also had a crush on me at the beginning of the year. A big crush. He cornered me and told me about it.

It was kind of odd, but brave nonetheless.

But anyway. So I was sitting in my room here, crying over Mike (again, I know) and I hear a tentative knock at my door.

"Rosie?"

"Hang on."

I quickly wiped the tears from my eyes (mostly). I wasn't sure who it was, but I thought it might have been Richard. If it had been Richard he would have given me a good hug.

Richard's very comforting. He's our should-be-gay neighbour.

But it was Al. With a stuffed...thing in hand.

"Hey Rosie."

Shitshit. I still felt some dampness on my face. I hadn't seen Al in a very long time.

"This is for you?"

"Thanks!...What is it?"

"It's a black ghost. With legs."

"Oh. Thanks."

"Are you busy?"

I kind of was, so I stretched the truth a little.

"Yeah."

"Oh."

Insert small talk here in which time I ease him away from my door and close the door.

Poor thing. He's heading back to Lethbridge. Might go to college again sometime, he said. Maybe he'd see me next year.

Who knows.

Who knows if I'll ever see Alpine again.

...

On another note, I have sound class for seven hours today, and it felt like *nothing*. Digital editting will do that to you.

Sui-Fan liked my reasoning behind an unconventional editting cut. It made me happy.

.

Rosie.

Before&After