A fabulous event!
January 18, 2004 - 10:51 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

12th Night was a *fabulous* event.

Alisha and I waterbore for the heavy fighters tourney. We drooled over the heavy fighters. (Especially Vicount Asher, but he's married, so no trying. He's *such* a good fighter, and he's got *such* beautiful shiny armour.)

Krista (another girl in Bitter End here) and I drooled over the rapier fighters.

One in particular.

I saw him before the fighting started, standing on the sidelines talking to someone, but he was 'naked' (in regular clothes, not medieval clothes).

"Hey, Krista. Look at *that* guy. Wouldn't he make a fabulous fop?"

Side note: A fop is a man who does the whole poofy shirt, doublet, breeches, feathered hat and lots and lots of ribbons and lace kind of thing. Is usually a rapier fighter.

"Oooo, Marie--" Marie is my SCA name. "--you're right. He's *fabulous*."

We watched him for a little, but men in garb are *so* much better, so we turned back to the garbed men fighting.

In a few minutes we had even *better* eye candy because the beforementioned guy had changed into his fighting garb and was joining the field.

Not flashy fighting garb. White poofy tunic, black breeches, black leggings and plain mundane shoes. But *still*.

Eye candy in garb is worth three who aren't.

So we watched him.

And watched.

I hope he didn't notice. That would have been right creepy.

Managed to contact Cormac (he wasn't sure if I was me, and I wasn't sure if he was he, because we hadn't seen each other in three years -- he still looks exactly the same).

He introduced me around.

At one point we were sitting off to one side whilest he took a break from serving, and the tall hot one (who was even more drool-worthy because he had changed into his regular garb: red silk poofy shirt thickly striped with a darker red, black velvet doublet with silver edging) walked some distance by me, and I eyed him pointedly, grinned, and muttered something to the effect of:

"There goes a hot piece of man flesh."

And Cormac grinned evilly from one ear to the other. "Oh really?" Then he raised his voice, in a sing-song, "Ooooooo Niii-ii-iicholi!"

I shot Cormac a furiously embarassed look and whispered furiously "Cormac..." while giving him a swift but discreet boot in the shins (I feel bad because I had my steel toes on and forgot; he's okay, though).

But Nicholi (*drool*) with his long, long legs had already approached with a curious, "Hmmm?"

Cormac, stil grinning. "I'd like to present my friend Marie. Marie, Nicholi."

I flashed a modest but pretty (I hope!) smile and dipped my head a little in acknowledgement, extending my hand appropriately.

Aah, and the dear boy knew what to do with it! He grasped it lightly and brushed a kiss across the knuckles.

*swoon!*

"Milady."

And he sat near me for the rest of the night. He didn't mind when I gently groped him, checking out the working on his doublet.

Knowing my luck, he has a lady, but I tried to discreetly check in two ways.

1.) During the tourney, the fighters are asked to bow to the crown (where ever the throne is, whether there's royalty there or not), their honourable oponant, and the one that inspires them that day (%98 of the time their girlfriends/wives), and I watched but I didn't see him bow to anyone at that point.

Still. I had to be careful.

So 2.) I asked him if he made his own garb. If he had, that would be a good indicator he was single, because, not to be sexist but it's almost always true, girlfriends almost always make their boyfriends' garb. But no, he said Lady something or another had made it for him, and I don't think he would have referred to his girlfriend in such a formal way. Or he would have said that 'his lady' had made it.

Cormac gave me a rundown on him after he was out of earshot.

~lives in Lethbridge.

~works for the company that put out Neverwinter Nights.

~is a geek, so probably is unattached.

~is a gamer.

~was an olympic fencer before he joined the SCA (much like me).

That's all I remember.

After court dancers set up, so I joined. There weren't enough guys so the dance captain sent all the women out to get men. Cormac was already in the group, and I saw him grin wickedly when the dance captain sent us on the hunt for more men.

He flashed me a wicked little look and made a beeline for Nicholi.

I can't say I was displeased. ;) Nicholi claimed he had 'three left feet' but joined anyway.

He's far better at dancing than he claims, although I danced mostly with Cormac.

Cormac has a lady, by the way. A really, really beautiful redhead with the most beautiful Tudor dress that suited her *so* well. She had fresh flowers in her hair, too.

But anway, I close this.

"You're leaving?"

"Aye. But perhaps I'll see you at another event?"

"The next one I'll be at is--" I don't remember which one he said, but it's in Saskatoon.

"Maybe I'll see you there."

"Goodnight, then. Safe driving."

"Goodnight."

He's such a pretty boy, although I'll probably never see him again.

*sigh*

.

Rosie.

Before&After