Welding burn.
January 21, 2004 - 11:10 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

The welding burn I mentioned yesterday is from last Thursday, and it's just beginning to peel.

It's still very, very red and very, very angry.

It wasn't from the flame contacting my skin, but rather the UV rays from the arc effectively 'sunburning' my exposed skin.

It really sucks because not only was it in a triangle on my chest (I didn't have the last two buttons of my shirt done up), but my skin is so incredibly fair and unused to UV rays, especially across my neck and chest, that it burned to the point where one of the second year techs how many *days* I'd been welding like that.

I'd been welding on and off for two hours.

*Two hours!*

Hardly anything. I wasn't welding the entire time. In fact, I spent most of the time trying to figure out what I was doing.

I got asked about it a lot at the SCA event. It was a conversation piece, even if it hurt like a bitch.

The edges are beginning to fade to a tan, in a strange half inch border.

But I go.

Classes now.

.

Rosie.

Before&After