An evening of coffee (and tea)
February 18, 2004 - 1:37 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Jared and I decided to get together for coffee last night after his work.

Ended up going over to Jim's workplace (the View, nice little pub-like upstairs place; I'll have to go back there sometime) because it was Jim's birthday. Krista, Lunchbox and Alesha were already there, along with two guys I didn't know (Chris and Tom, I think?).

We just sat around and drank and they smoked like chimneys and I whispered dirty, dirty things in Krista's ear to make her giggle.

And giggle she did! It was pretty amusing.

Afterwards, when the View closed at 1am, everybody was going to head over to this other drinking place, and Jared kind of lagged behind (I was kind of undecided what I wanted to do, but bars really aren't my scene).

"Hey, what're you gonna do?" Says I to him. He was looking a bit down. Not down so much as unusually quiet and a bit moody.

"I don't know. Depends on what you're gonna do."

I suggested Denny's (Boston Pizza closed at 2am, dammit!).

We sat in Denny's 'til about 3:30am just talking about stuff.

He was moody because Heather, his ex, had spent all their grocery money on manicures and shite for Valentine's, then took his debit card and spent $22 out of his last $25 to fill up her car, which he's not allowed to use.

Thus, he was pretty irate.

She's also trying to keep tabs on him still. Sunday, he was over 'til the wee, wee hours of the morning, just hanging out, and when he got home she was up.

"Where were you, coming home at 5am?"

"I was hanging out with Rosie."

Apparently she's convinced that he left her for someone, and since he and I are hanging out (not romantically, even! We're honestly just friends right now...right now...) I think she's becoming convinced that I'm the one he left her for, and have been having and affair with for two years (just ignoring the fact I moved here in September, and didn't meet Jared 'til December, and didn't actually start hanging out with him 'til January).

Ah well. Girls will be girls.

I'm hopeful for something between Jared and I come September. Just ignoring the fact Jared said:

"So I've heard rumours that you want to date me come September..."

And my silent but comfirming smirk. He just laughed.

And a comment yesterday. He was talking about his 'checkered past'. Not in detail, because I didn't really want to know details and he didn't look like he wanted to get into details.

"You know, Jared. Although I'd be useless and it probably means little, I'd back you up if you need it."

"Naah. I've had girlfriends offer to back me up before....even though you're not my girlfriend yet."

Teehee.

Made me all warm and fuzzy inside.

After, at about 4am, he walked me home because I asked him to. After all, if it was warm enough for me to be walking at night without a hat or mitts (barely, but it was), it was warm enough for 'unsavoury characters' to be stalking the college paths. And even though I'm a tall and sturdily built girl, I'm still a girl, and that's insentive enough for most.

So he walked me home. (Otherwise I would have taken the much longer but well lighted path.)

It was nice.

.

Rosie.

Before&After