A Good Day
February 19, 2004 - 3:29 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Went shopping today.

Did it cheaply as humanly possible. I think I spent $5 total, that includes tea at the coffee shop.

I bought a hematite ring for a dollar.

I bought a lime green measuring tape for 5 cents and a spool of linen thread for 20 cents at a place that was going out of business.

Linen thread is so damned hard to find.

And I bought me a tiny, cheap box of chocolates for $2.

Because sometimes I need cheap chocolate like I need cheap wine.

I just had one. Exactly as I expected: too sweet, non-descript pastel fruit flavours surrounded by crumbly chocolate.

Mmm. Cheap goodness.

But I don't eat them often. I haven't had really cheap chocolates in a very long time (two years at least).

~

Later, sitting in the coffee shop with big Sean (as opposed to 'dark Prince' Sean):

"So are you and Jared together yet?"

All innocent like. "What do you mean, 'together'?"

"You know what I mean! I saw you two the other night. Seemed to be getting along pretty well, there..."

"Me?! Couldn't be..."

"I saw you, I did. Can't deny it."

I just responded with a wicked grin.

~

Last night I was over at Drew's place, with Sarah, Aiden, and Jared.

We watched a movie. Count of Monte Cristo (freakin' good movie). Jared and Sarah were on the couch (Sarah was stretched out with her legs over Jared's lap), I was leaning against the couch and Aiden and Drew were on the floor.

Suddenly I feel a shift behind me, and a warm hand gently and diliberately on my shoulder, two fingers rubbing ever so slightly for a moment or two before becoming still.

Later Sarah got up to go to bed and Drew claimed the couch, and so Jared sat on the floor next to me and very conveniantly stretched his arms along the edge of the couch, one arm going about my shoulders.

I shifted a little inwards, but that's all that happened (especially because Aiden was crying and climbed into my lap and promptly went to sleep).

It's hard to move with an irritable sleeping baby in your lap.

Still, it was nice.

It was innocent, and still, it was nice.

And with that, I'm done.

.

Rosie.

Before&After