A long and lazy day
May 09, 2004 - 10:43 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I went garage saling yesterday, in the morning, with my mom.

"Okay, Rosie. You know the rules. No more than five minutes at a garage sale. We've got eighteen to get to today."

"Yes, mum. But you know I'm usually the one waiting for you."

"Really?...Huh."

And true to word, I spent most of my time waiting for her in the car after I'd picked over everything.

I bought, though, a few videos (101 Dalmations for my mom for mother's day -- it's her favorite -- and Muppet's Christmas Carol, and Cinderella because I loooove Cinderella), each for a dollar. I contemplated also getting Aladdin, Snow White, and the Lion King, but I didn't want to spend that much money.

I bought Moxy's Fruvous' 'Bargainville' for a dollar.

My mom bought my a green Indian-like tunic-and-pants set in a light olive green for four dollars.

Normally I hate olive green, but this is rather pretty, with lots of embroidery along the cuffs and neck and hem in different shades of green. I'm wearing the outfit now.

And it's never been worn! It still had the tag on it.

~

We were going around to the garage sales, and we pulled up to this one house, parked a little down the street, and walked up.

And I turned around before even hitting the driveway and booked it back to the car.

My mom said I took off like a bat outta hell, but I think that's a bit of exaggeration.

"I turned around and you'd taken off, honey," my mom told me when she got back to the car. "So I figured there was someone at the garage sale you didn't like. I took a look at the clientelle, but didn't see anyone, then I looked at the guy running the garage sale."

It was Frank. Frank. The bane of my existance, my old boss from Darwin's who hated me.

"Don't worry, honey," my mom whispered in a conspirital tone. "I peed on all his stuff."

My mom is on crack.

Anyway.

I went out for coffee with my parents afterwards (except for the fact I don't drink coffee and had hot chocolate instead, heavily spiced).

It was too hot in the coffee shop so I left and went to the little I.O.D.E park, where Judy, Sean and the lady whose name I can never remember were fencing. I read my book (oh yes, I picked up two books and six brass shot glasses at the church garage sale).

I ended up spending about twelve hours over at Judy and Janette's place, stomping dirt for the re-bricking of their patio out back, reading my book, and eating good old Kootenay shortbread. (It was bright green.)

I'd pulled something nasty in my back (probably when I was over at Mike's place), so it was partially for the pain.

It was nice, though. Colleen came over after a while and we all had dinner together.

It was really nice.

Yeah. I finished my book yesterday. That I'd bought yesterday.

It was kind of stupid. It was romance entitled 'Beauty and the Beast', but it only very, very remotely had anything to do with the fairy tale.

Stupid books.

I should write.

.

Rosie.

Before&After