An encounter with Josh
June 13, 2004 - 1:42 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

So after the play tonight, I took a walk along the main drag, and ran into Josh.

Side note: Josh, Josh was a regular at King's (still is!), always had wonton soup and peppermint tea. I always teased him about it, and there's always been a playful love-hate kind of friendship between us. He's also a local cartoonist, and is really into cartooning. I don't know what he does for a living. He's turning 35 this week, he told me, though I would have guessed 26-28ish. I've always been mildly attracted to him, because I've always believed age is just a number.

Josh and I traded a few insults, then there was a pause in the conversation.

Josh grinned, the way only Josh can.

"So...you're not jailbait anymore, huh?"

I couldn't help but laugh. I've actually been getting that a lot lately.

("Oh, god, Marie!--" This was in the SCA. "--You're of age now, aren't you? We're going to have to change your nickname from Jailbait to...oh, I know! Malebait!")

Anyway, we didn't talk long because he had a taxi pulling up for him.

He says next months he's having an art show in Danny's Deli, of the comics he's been doing for the Express.

I think I'll have to go take a look.

"You have to you?" said I, with big, limpid eyes.

"I'm sorry! I do, I do."

"And I even have my comics here! I wanted to show you some." It was true. I had about three completed comic strips in my sketchbook.

"Awww...Well, you should call me sometime. I'm in the book!"

"So am I! Only S------'s in the book!"

"Really?...But you're staying at your parents?"

"So?"

"It's alright to call there?"

"Sure. I'll be there."

"Alright," he said very definately as he pulled open the taxi door. "I will!"

Somehow, I think he actually will.

I kind of hope he does. I like talking to Josh. And I'd like to trade comics with him.

I do so like cartooning.

.

Rosie.

Before&After