Karaoke night, and another run in with Lorin
June 13, 2004 - 11:50 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Oh, oh!

I went to karaoke tonight.

I like going to karaoke.

Joe, the taxi driver, was co-hosting karaoke. He did a good job.

And Lorin was there! Remember Lorin? It was nice to see him. He came and sat with us, and sang a couple songs.

And I admit, I flirted. We flirted. It was kind of nice.

He did a very nice thing, too.

So this guy came up to Candace and wanted her to sing with him, but she said no, because she knew what he wanted and she has a boyfriend she's happy with.

But anyway, he decided to sit at our table and talk with us.

I think he said his name was Pete. We were at our usual table in front of the stage, so it was kind of loud.

Anyway, Lorin was sitting with Candace and myself and Pete looks at Candace, then looks at me, then looks at Lorin, and back to me.

"Is he your boyfriend?" he asks me, indicating Lorin.

"What?"

"Is *he* your *boyfriend*?" he repeated, and I looked over at Lorin.

Lorin had this look in his eye that basically said, "Look. I know we're not, but if these guys are bugging you, you're free to say that I'm your boyfriend, and I won't contradict you."

But I don't really like lying, and Pete, though rather tipsy, wasn't being aggresive and was actually quite good-naturedly humourous.

So I said no, we weren't dating.

But Pete didn't believe me. It was funny. It also made me glow a little bit because:

"I know what's going on! It's kind of in limbo, huh? You like each other, but don't know if you're 'dating' or what, huh?"

One of Pete's friends came over to our table.

"Hey! I know what's going on with these two! She's kinda unsure, and he likes *her*..."

I glanced over at Lorin to catch him grinning and nodding a little, but for all I know it could have been in jest. Still, it was nice to think about. :P

I finished off my drink pretty quick, and Lorin offered me a ride home, which I took.

I almost got him to promise to sing 'Time Warp' with me next week.

Almost.

He still seemed pretty tentative. I think just a little pressure needs to be applied. :P

.

Rosie.

PS, You know, I'm very male-fixated at the moment. Hormones? I dunno. :)

Before&After