A picture frame remade, and two things
September 26, 2004 - 1:04 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I might have mentioned, I bought a picture (with picture frame) at Value Village earlier this week, so I could punch out the picture and use the frame.

Only thing was, the frame was significantly too large.

Made me cry.

So I punched out the picture (a floral atrocity painted by some amateur on a badly primed ceiling tile), and cleaned up the frame (which was really a nice frame).

I had to do laundrey last night, so I took it to the shop. Only Calum (second year motion picture arts guy) was in there.

Put on my laundrey. Had a bit of a time measuring the angles for the frame.

At first I was going to seperate all the joins, cut it all down, and put it back together.

Buuuut. I wasn't that ambitious. So I simply cut off two of the corners, cut the sides down, and put it back together.

Glue and long staples, baby. Not professional, but I was painting the frame anyway, and I don't know how to *do* it professionally. It still looks good.

I made it a little too small, unfortunately, but it doesn't matter so much.

Then I still had forever on my laundrey (because the spin cycle wasn't working, the drying was taking forever), I set up the spray painting booth, yoinked a can of black spray paint, and gave it a layer.

Then I cleaned the shop some.

And put on another layer.

Then some more cleaning.

And another layer.

More cleaning.

Flipped it over, and another layer.

Checked the call board.

Another layer.

Twiddled thumbs.

Another layer.

Checked laundrey.

Checked paint job. Fixed bad spots.

Let dry. Transferred laundrey to dryer, after wringing it out.

Transferred frame out of paint booth. Checked paint job in different light.

Found bad spots.

Touched it up with regular paint (same brand, same gloss fortunately).

It looks pretty good now, though I do have to take it back and touch it up again. I found a spot on the side that's a bit thin.

But it looks good. The paint covers well all over, but is thin enough that you can see the woodgrain still, and you can't tell which is painted on, and which is sprayed on.

I'm very proud of myself.

I brought it home and Tyne ambushed me. She thinks it's really good, too. In fact, she squeeled. Now we can only hope that is has the same effect on Loren. ;)

~

Last night two things happened:

I got my period (which is only good because I won't have it on the Thanksgiving weekend).

I found out Alice (my "I like *ponies*!" roommate) totalled her car by running into a bus. A BUS! I hope it's not because she didn't *see* it. (She's alright. She only has a bruise on her elbow. Yeah, I don't know. But she's okay.)

.

Rosie.

Before&After