Stupid inconsiderate mother
February 06, 2006 - 5:50 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

So my mother called earlier:

"Oh, honey. Some mail came for you today--" I'd been waiting on a particularely important package. "--it's something little, from Texas."

That sounds right.

So I call about ten minutes ago:

"Hey, dad, can I send Loren by to pick up that piece of mail that came for me?"

My dad had no idea what I was talking about, and was kind of frazzled due to company coming any moment.

He insisted on finding out all about this piece of mail.

"You know what, dad, I'll just come by later. Can I do that?"

"I don't know--"

The phone was snatched from him.

My mother, snappish:

"What do you want, Rosie?"

Like I was some terrible burden forced upon her. Like I was cutting into her precious time when I was talking to my dad, in fact, and not to her.

"Nothing," I say shortly. "Bye."

In a particularely nasty voice she snaps: "Goodbye." and hangs up the phone before I've even taken it away from my head.

Fuck.

My mother is so goddamned rude.

I wish she had more care and consideration.

One time I called, but she is kind of dumb with the phone and must not have heard me say: "Hullo, mum!"

Because she promptly said in a harried and rude tone:

"I don't know who this is, but get off the phone; I have to make a long distance call."

Admittedly, it was to check on a friend of hers in Vancouver who'd recently had a massive heart attack (he had surgery and is okay, by the way).

But still. Who knows who I could have been?

My mother doesn't have a lot of consideration and that drives me mental.

Just because you're having a bad day, doesn't mean you should inflict it on other people.

My mother made me cry with her total of six words.

Now I don't feel like doing anything but moping around.

And I was having such a good day, too.

.

Rosie.

Before&After