Religion and Buddhas
July 07, 2006 - 12:04 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

So my second cousin (or something) came to stay with my parents. She's about eighteen, and as my mom puts it 'sweet, but not too bright'.

She's also very religious (Christian).

So my dad has this laptop. And my dad is fond of Buddhas. He's vaguely Roman Catholic, but he has a few Buddhas around. Including the wallpaper on his laptop.

I found him that wallpaper. It's a beautiful artistic rendering of five Buddhas, each as an element of nature, with the fifth being 'soul' or 'heart' or something.

Anyway, Katherine, my cousin, tends to stay up later than everyone else on the computer.

This morning my dad came downstairs to find his wall paper had changed.

Instead of the beautiful rendering of Buddhas...

...it was a magnificant sunset, sillhouetting three crosses on a hill.

He thought it was pretty funny, but still intends to change the background back to the Buddhas.

Ah, religion.

So weird, and funny at the same time.

Sometimes I think hardcore religion is for stupid people that don't know how to be genuinely kind (sorry if I offend; it's just one woman's humble opinion).

Have you ever met Christians/Catholics/Whatevers who're really nice, but you're not entirely sure that they *are* nice?

That's what I'm talking about.

Ah well. It's all sorts of weird.

.

Rosie.

Before&After