Contacts and unions
September 02, 2006 - 2:10 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Well, my first call is over.

It went well, despite the fact I remembered my wrench and flashlight (both of which I didn't need, but everyone else was carrying theirs as well, so oh well) but forgot my work gloves.

Didn't get any splinters. My hands are torn to shit, though.

Funny, all the guys remembered their work gloves, but all the girls forgot (including the woman who lead the call).

It was a good call, though.

Me and a guy named Stephen were easing a trolly full of flats down a long ramp to the stage, and talking.

"So....what do you do when you're not doing this?" he asked.

"Actually, this is pretty much all I do," I replied with a laugh. "In theory."

"Really?" he said thoughtfully. "What do you think of working at the Grand?"

"I'll work anywhere I can right now," I said.

"I should get your contact info," he said, equally thoughtfully.

"Well, I applied there already, and got a call I couldn't take," I said and he frowned. "I can't remember the guy's name who phoned me."

"Pieter?" he asked.

"Yeah, that'd be the one."

"Huh. I must just have missed your name on the list. What's your last name?"

"S------," I said and he nodded thoughtfully.

Later as we were passing each other on different trollies, he called, "I have a funny story for you, Rosie! I just put two and two together!"

We didn't end up in the same spot for long enough until the end of the shift (at which point he shoulder checked me into a table to steal my pen, that bastard).

"Hey, yeah, funny story!" he said, waggling his finger. "You emailed in your resume, didn't you?"

"Yes I did," I said. "I emailed around before I came here."

"Haha! I saw it! When you said your name I was all 'Where do I know that name? *Where* do I know that name?'"

Mystery solved.

Rather appropriate because Vertigo is a mystery theatre.

.

Rosie.

PS, Stephen also told me I should get my 'papers', meaning IATSE papers, the theatre tech union. Maybe I should. I haven't heard anything bad about it, and I've heard that the union is short on people. Couldn't hurt. And turns out you *can* work non-union theatres when you're union. ("Man, it's half an hour of paperwork, and a hundred bucks, and totally worth it." I assume he's union.)

Before&After