Hugs, Paul-abuse, and paintings
November 14, 2006 - 1:18 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I'm doing pretty good, so far. I'm tired as HELL, but that's expected.

My sleeping schedual is having a hard time shifting to working these late night calls. I don't know how Carrie did it, AND still got up to teach class in the morning. It's crazy.

My arms are covered in paint up to the elbows, that I've just given up trying to wash. I don't even care when I eat now. It's not like it's WET paint. I feel like such an artiste. ;)

I did some actual real non-scenic (sort of) painting, last night.

We have to paint in these windows for the Emerald City so it's like curtains or what ever, so you can't see through them. I painted a red cat. I thought about Ditto the whole time.

Unfortunately, Mainstage-Steve doesn't understand artist ettiquite and kept trying to critique the painting WHILE I WAS WORKING ON IT.

I agree with Kelly on this point: if someone critiques my painting WHILE I'M WORKING ON IT I completely lose interest in finishing it.

So when I saw Steve reaching out to point, and his mouth open to critique, I yelled:

"Stop! No!"

"But I was just going to point out--"

"I don't want you to point out anything! I don't want a critique!"

"Well, I critique everything, so get used to it."

"No," I said. "This is a work in progress. You don't critique it."

And later, when I was standing back to check it out (there was a few gibbly parts), I said: "I think the chest is a bit wrong."

"I can point out exactly what's wrong with it--" said Steve.

"No!" I quickly yelled (he woulda talked over me, if I didn't yell). "Don't tell me!"

"But I was just--"

"No! I don't want to know! This is my art piece, and I don't want any advice on it!"

I think I hurt his feelings from that, but I really didn't want any advice or critique. (I tend not to like critiques unless that's what I'm doing: critiquing. If I don't prepare my brain for critiques, they'll hurt my feelings. If I'm ready for critiques, it's no problem.)

After I snapped at Steve to stay the hell away from my painting (in gentler words, but that was essentially what I meant), he went and slept in the audience for the last hour or so.

I feel bad for being mean to him, but if I hadn't, I would have been worse off.

Steve tends to have a bad habit of stomping all over my personal boundries.

"I'm not a hugging person, Steve."

"Too bad, I am!"

"Stay the hell away from me, Steve."

Actually, I like hugs, but I have to be very comfortable with the person. And even then, I don't hug Colleen, or Chelsea, or Candace, or any of my really close friends. I tend to only hug significant others, and my mother when she threatens me with death otherwise.

And even mother-hugs are awkward stiff affairs.

Oddly enough, I'm okay with other touching.

Anyway, I have lunch to eat, and then Paul to stalk (Colleen and I are heading to his workplace to abuse him in front of his staff).

.

Rosie.

Before&After