Fashion and fashion and fashion
January 02, 2007 - 12:10 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I'm really feeling the urge to create clothing these days.

I think this year is going to be a good year for clothing for me, even if I don't wear any of it (Tyne said she'd be my doll, but didn't promise to wear anything more than once, which is reasonable I think).

I wish I had more training in the fabric arts, but I don't. I just have to work with what I have.

My mother bought me a book, 'The Medieval Tailor's Assistant', for Christmas. I think it will be invaluable not only for creating garb, but for doing some of my own clothing (some tailored jackets, fitted dresses, etc).

I bought myself a tailor's ham a while ago. I haven't used it yet. I don't even have an ironing board (I use a pad of material on the table; it isn't perfect, but better than nothing).

Thinks I would like to purchase in this coming year:

Dress dummy in my size, or adjustable (this is definately at the top of my list).

Serger (this is a very, very close second; it's only second because I really need a good dress dummy, to do proper fitting clothes for myself).

Ironing board.

Big sewing basket (for my littler stuff, like pins, and zippers, and thread, of which I have amassed a startlingly large amount).

Shelves to store my material.

.

The last two are debatable. I have totes in which I carry my material, and rubbermaid drawers to keep my notions, but it's pretty jumbled, and I wish I had something that kept it better.

Oh well.

I have so many thoughts on clothes, especially for myself (I'm large enough that I'm breaching on the rectangular-cut-fat-woman's-clothing, which is really not flattering on my otherwise reasonably flattering figure).

Thinking about clothes, I realize there's very limited fashion that looks very good on me.

Ah well. Soon there will be more! MUAHAHAHAHAHA!

The Evil Overlord of Fashion.

.

Rosie.

PS, In other news, my hats have gone over spectacularely well in Nelson. I get a much warmer, more personal response from people around here than I have in Calgary (though people laugh and point a lot more openly in Calgary; people here just grin, and shrug it off).

Before&After