Buckcherry, and a rant about bar lighting
February 20, 2007 - 12:03 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Tyne and I went to a Buckcherry concert last night.

I don't generally listen to that kind of music, but I like the concerts. The energy is contagious.

I wore my blue corset, laced as tightly as it would go, with a simple black 3/4 sleeve shirt over top, short red kilt, fishnets, knee-high boots, lace choker with a simple cameo.

Make-up: plain powder base (I didn't want to do anything more, because of the freakin spider bite on my face), white eyeliner (the kind that always creeped Loren out), red lipstick with a layer of fine red sparkled over top (it looked fantastic).

Tyne was dressed similarly, but more punk.

It was only a couple blocks to the bar, 'Cowboys'.

Eagh.

If it weren't for Buckcherry, it would not be a place I would go.

Anyway, we get in, I check my coat, and we look around.

The place is full of normals.

SERIOUSLY.

We were the most dressed up people there. There was one other goth girl (with fantastic make-up), no punks that I could conceivably see, no rockabillies, nothing.

A few cowboy hats.

Oh well. We both get a drink and wait for the concert to start. We get a lot of looks, and a few comments from drunken men walking by. I get a lot of dirty looks when I'm in the bathroom, and they make me laugh.

Gin and tonic glows in black light; did you know that?

It was blue. And weird. I drank it anyway. It was very cheap gin.

The opening act was Idle Sons. Apparently they were nominated for a Juno or something.

I don't see why, personally.

All their music sounded the same, and there was only one song I kind of liked.

Their stage show was kind of boring, the drummer looked like he needed a bath and a brush, and all of them (except the rhythm guitarist) needed a new wardrobe. The rhythm guitarist had a pretty spiffy jacket that suited him well.

Their set was short. I was glad.

As apathetically as Iron Sons had wandered onto stage, Buckcherry positively blasted onto the stage.

They were really good. Their music was catchy, dancable, and they did one slower song which made me cry (called 'Sorry'; it's kind of how I've been feeling lately).

All the band members were fun to watch. They positively wallowed in the energy from the crowd, and bounced it right back.

The drummer was a tall, beefy type, with black eyeliner, and long black hair which he'd whip around to great effect.

He was probably the most fun to watch, not because he'd snarl at the audience, or occasionally drum standing up (which was pretty cool anyway), but because the other band members would occasionally wander back to him and talk to him, at which point he'd break out into great grins and giggles, and stick out his tongue.

It's fun to watch a bunch of people have so much fun.

My feet hurt a lot by the end.

It was a good show, though. If you like good rock, go see a Buckcherry.

They've all got some pretty amazing tattoos, as well. I wonder if having tattoos is obligatory in a good rock band, just like having one large bald man with a super long goatee is obligatory in a metal band.

Who knows. It's the mysteries of the universe.

.

Rosie.

PS, Oh yeah, and the lighting was positively terrible. They mixed Rosco gels and Lee gels (which doesn't sound like a big thing, but they don't mix well; Lee does very vibrant colours, which are good for rock shows, and Rosco does more muted and subdued colours which are good for plays and 'natural' lighting). The colours they used were a muted teal (Rosco, I'm betting), a muted blue-based purple (Rosco again), a vibrant orange (Lee, I'm betting) and open white.

Open white is good. It adds a punch to the show.

The other colours I would not have chosen. If I had to choose only three colours (they seemed to have it patched so they could only rotate between three colours and the open white) I would have chosen a dark red, a medium blue, and either a bright pink (like Broadway Pink, in Rosco, but I'd probably find the equivilant in Lee) or a red-based purple.

However, if I had my way, I would have gelled the four sets of lights with a bunch of colours. I probably would have done a mix of blue and purple, red and medium orange (with the orange spotting on the band members), open white with pale yellow and maybe pale pink, and something with bright pink coming from one side, and either bright purple or bright yellow coming from the other.

Ah well. I doubt they'd listen to me if I went in there.

It looked like they'd bought a bunch of left over odds-and-ends from a theatre company that was going under. The colours they were using aren't very common colours.

Before&After