Fantasy writing
April 27, 2007 - 3:05 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

25,149.

I was on the forum of the fantasy writers page I hang around, and I was asking for ideas for a 'haunted past' of one of my main characters.

I'm a little stuck, see.

I gave as much detail as I could, to get good feedback.

And I did!

One person totally struck me with what they suggested. Now so much what, as how.

They opened with: "Easy as pie."

No!

NO!

It's NOT easy.

Don't you think I would have thought of all the easy solutions already?

DUH.

Sorry, rant.

Writing, I find, is not easy. It's fuckin hard. It's draining, above all things. It's tiring to write fantasy, to make up all the details, to think from every point of view, to make sure the logic makes sense.

To write it more like real life, in another place, than as a 'fantasy novel'.

It's hard.

I want my normal story to be fantastic, not my fantastic story to be normal.

Does that make sense?

Well, I don't care if it doesn't, 'cause it makes sense to me.

I do not like high or epic fantasy.

That's probably one reason I always liked Patricia C Wrede's books. She seemed to write about normal people in fantastic situations.

Ah well.

I'll be a bestseller one day. ;)

.

Rosie.

Before&After