"I hate making you cry."
November 27, 2007 - 2:01 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

He called.

We talked for an hour.

We talked about the event this past weekend.

We talked about the email I'd sent.

We talked about his problems.

I cried. I laughed. He cried. He laughed.

I'm still single but I'm...okay. I realized one of the things I miss most about Paul is just talking to him on the phone. I told him not to stop calling. He told me to call him, too.

He told me he was feeling constrained, because he'd been going from one serious relationship to another for some years now, and really needed some time alone to think.

I told him I don't date often. When I do date, it's because I'd found someone worth dating. And I thought he was worth dating.

He was quiet for a long time, and then said very quietly 'Thank you'. I think he was choking up.

He got some stuff off his chest. I got some stuff off my chest.

That boy needs to learn how to say no. To everyone. He needs to learn how to balance his Other People Time with his Me Time. He's sacrificed so much of his Me Time that he's now suffering for it.

And if I ever meet his extended family, there are a few words I'd like to say to them. Polite, firm words.

Ah, relationships. They're stupid.

Remember how I said I thought he was trying to catch my eye at tavern?

Well, he was. He said it really hurt when I wouldn't meet his eye.

"I would have cried," I said. I would have. I was barely holding together as it was.

"I hate making you cry." He sounded on the edge of tears himself.

I hope he figures himself out.

I hope, I hope.

Ah, stupid boys.

.

Rosie.

Before&After