Sickness all around
February 25, 2008 - 5:56 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I feel decided odd today. I think I may have caught something from one of the sick actors (there's only three actors in the show, and two are sick).

Ty came in this morning looking positively ashen, with the glaze of sweat on his face.

"How are you?"

"Fine, fine...if by 'fine' you mean having to duck into an alley to throw up on the way here..."

He couldn't make it from the train stop to the theatre without throwing up, and that's only a block and a half.

He lay on the couch in the green room until ten minutes to show, not moving and barely speaking. It was all he could do to drag himself upright and get into his costume.

We set up puke buckets on either side of the stage, but fortunately he didn't have to use them. Still, his performance was slower and low energy (I'm not surprised).

There's also a great deal of sloppy make-outs in this play (to be repeatedly interrupted by cell phone calls) between him and the leading lady, so they had to improvise with neck and ear kissing. It was only really awkward for one scene, which, fortunately, was only about fifteen seconds long.

Even with the improvising, Bonnie (the stage manager) called all the cell phone sound cues very fast, so they barely got a nibble in before moving on (normally they slobber on each other for a good 15-20 seconds).

Anyway, during the show my head felt a bit odd, and my eyeballs felt like they were furry and slicked with glue.

After the show, while picking up garbage from the aisles and locking the theatre doors, I was feeling decidedly light headed.

It's only gotten worse.

I run out of things to do for the show pretty quickly, and usually spend ten to fifteen minutes checking emails and tidying the green room while I'm waiting for the laundry to finish (I also do all the laundry after the shows, and the ironing before the shows).

So I'm laying on one of the green room couches (not the same couch as the sick-couch!), and talking to Juliet, the media services manager.

What-evs. I feel alright. But then I hear my laundry finish, so we part ways.

Upon standing, I was so light headed and dizzy, I had to hold onto the door frame and wait a good thirty seconds for the world to stop spinning.

It *could* be the onset of an ear infection, but I'm not sure.

It feels like being weak from lack of food, but I've been eating fine today.

I don't know.

Also, I'm fighting the constant compulsion to eat. I've been fighting it (and mostly losing) this past month. I know it's just a cycle, and soon I'll cycle back to my healthier eating patterns, but it's frustrating right now.

Although at first I gave in to the urge to buy junk food, but after about a week of that, I started pushing my hand towards the healthier things.

I figured if I'm going to overeat, it might as well be on fruit and carrot sticks, rather than chips and chocolate.

Still, I feel gross from overeating, and from eating out too much. This is a good sign, though, a sign that my eating patterns are coming back under my control and my urges are abating.

I don't know why my eating cycles like this. It has since I hit puberty. I'll overeat, and know I'm doing it, for a couple weeks to a month, then the urge will recede and I'll eat normal healthy amounts of food.

My weight is constant, though. Well, I'm sure it fluctuates a bit, but not enough that I notice a different fit to my clothes.

Anyway, I'm still feeling off, so I think I'm going to go lay down for a wee bit, and play the new video game I bought the other day.

.

Rosie.

Before&After