Hippy jams and drinking
May 22, 2008 - 10:58 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Oh, oh!

I went to a hippy party.

Last Tuesday.

It was faaantastic.

Although I don't think I believe in most of the hippy mumbo-jumbo, it was just nice to be around people who believed in something other than money.

Upon arriving, although I didn't know anyone, I was immediately greeted with warm hugs and introductions.

It was nice to be among people who were determined to believe the best in me, and if not the best, were willing to help me be the best I could be without thinking of what they could get out of it.

Anyone new who showed up was greeted with a round of hugs.

It was a vegetarian potluck and music jam.

Of course, everyone brought salads and drums.

It felt like home.

People futzed around a bit, and then one of the guys got everyone's attention and suggested we start the jam with a tone.

Just a tone.

And he sung one long, sweet note, and one by one everyone joined in.

Although yes, I think it's a bit silly, I would rather join in than not.

And I sung along with the rest of them, and continued to do so as everyone broke off to harmonies, rhythms, and I heard a bit of chanting in the mix.

It was great.

I remember thinking halfway through that this was the sort of music I listen to. Tonal music, without lyrics, or with lyrics I can't understand.

It was lovely.

Unfortunately, I was limited by transit and had to leave early.

Oh well.

I had a great time while I was there. I left feeling refreshed and happy.

I went with my friend Stephen, who seemed weirded out most of the time. I don't think he's used to hippy jams.

Oh well.

Time for bed. Been drinking.

.

Rosie.

Before&After