Pencil Full of Lead
November 19, 2009 - 11:15 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I deposited over a thousand dollars (barely) in my bank account today. All earned last week.

I was beside myself.

I went on a shopping spree.

I bought a magazine (for seven dollars).

A cd (Paolo Nutini, for fifteen dollars).

And some take-out kalamari (for eight dollars).

CRAZY.

More crazy is that I haven't bought a new cd in ages.

I mean, I believe in owning originals, especially of small and/or independent artists, or if I particularly like their music, but I normally buy from the second hand shop.

Thing is, Paolo Nutini is so new, there's nothing of his in the shops.

And I particularly like his song, Pencil Full of Lead. It kind of outlines my philosophy on life.

For that song and that song alone I bought the album. I know I will listen to it on repeat whenever I need a pick-me-up.

I got legs on my chair and a head full of hair
Pot and a pan
And some shoes on my feet;
I got a shelf full of books and most of my teeth
A few pairs of socks and a door with a lock;
I got food in my belly and a license for my telly
And nothing�s gonna bring me down

Yep. Worth fifteen dollars.

.

Rosie.

PS, I saw that Agatha Christie play tonight, Murder on the Nile. I liked it, but I liked Mousetrap better. Still, the cast was very sharp and the costuming was good (though none of the girls were wearing period underwear).

Before&After