The Cap and Gown Ceremony
June 07, 2002 - 8:48 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Man, the cap and gown ceremony was last night.

Oh my god. It was so incredibly boring, it wasn't even funny.

But I got to wear a tie. *sparkle!*

"I want to wear a tie."

"Rosie, don't wear a tie to grad."

"I want to wear a tie! I red one."

"Rosie, don't wear a tie to grad."

"I'm already going to be wearing a dress shirt. I want to wear a red tie to grad."

"Rosie, don't wear a tie to grad."

"Dad, do you have a tie I can wear? Preferably red?"

"Yeah, hang on. I'll see if I can find it."

"Rosie, don't wear a tie to grad."

"I'm going to wear a tie to grad whether you like it or not, you know."

"Rosie, don't--"

"I heard you the first time, mom."

"Here, Rosie. But y'hafta iron it."

"Yeah, sure, okay. Thanks dad."

"While you're at it, Rosie, iron your shirt as well."

"Mom, my shirt doesn't really need ironing, and it's going to be under a gown, anyway."

"I really wish you'd iron your shirt."

"Well, I'm not going to."

"Then fix your hair."

"Mom, it looks fine. It's just a braid."

"No, the end looks ratty."

(I tend to loop the end of my braid, instead of letting it lay flat.)

"It does not look ratty!"

"John, fix Rosie's hair."

*grumblegrumblegrumblegrumble*

"Rosie, go get those silver earrings I got you and put them in."

(I don't like wearing earrings.)

"Mother, this silver doesn't match the red of the tie and it's going to look weird with the blue as well."

"No, no, no! You look very elegent."

"Heehee. Yeah, she looks like she could be some executive in a big office building or something. All she needs now is a riding crop." (Yes, that was my dad.)

"Why don't I wear my gold earrings?" (The ones with the stars that Tatsu gave me last year.)

"No, no, wear the silver ones. They look nicer."

*grumblegrumblegrumble*

But anyway, the ceremony was deathly boring, but I made sure to get several pictures of me holding my diploma upsidedown. ;)

And I got pegged with a hat.

Ow.

That hurt.

I didn't throw up my hat.

I knew I'd lose it and/or peg someone with it.

So I didn't throw it up.

Ha.

Screw you, tradition.

.

Rosie.

Before&After