The crazy 'ole twin horned uteris
December 12, 2003 - 3:14 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Dude! This is what I have:

Bicornuate (or as I usually call it 'twin horned'):

This is the most common congenital uterine anomaly (45% - Patton et al., '94). It results from a failure of fusion between the mullerian ducts at the 'top'. This failure may be "complete" which results in a two separate single horn uterine bodies sharing one cervix. Alternatively, in a "partial" bicornuate uterus fusion between the mullerian ducts occurred at the 'bottom', but not the 'top'. Thus, there is a single uterine cavity at the bottom with a single cervix, but it branches into two distinct horns at the top. Since the ducts never fused at the top, these two horns are separate structures when seen from the outside of the uterus.

I don't know whether my 'failure' is complete or partial, but I think that's what I have.

Go fig, eh?

.

Rosie.

Before&After