Metamorphasis: A play with a POOL.
March 02, 2005 - 5:15 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I went to see a play up at the Citidal Theatre, in Edmonton. It was good. It was called Metamorphasis.

I really enjoyed it. I knew it was Greek, or based on Greek myths and legends, and I thought it was going to be dry and bland, with great dramatic sweepings of arms and lofty language.

I was plesantly surprised. It was a funny play. It was based of the beforementioned things, but it was written towards a more modern audience, with a mix of lofty language and regular language.

And it had a pool on stage.

A POOL.

I don't mean your dumb old kiddy pool.

This thing had to be at good fifteen, twenty feet across.

It was about two inches deep at one end, and THREE FEET at the other.

(They couldn't make it any deeper because of the structure of the floor; it would have broken through. Even as it was, they had it majoring supported from below.)

It was AMAZING.

And they used the pool very well, especially for hardly having rehursed with it.

The rest of the set was Greek pillars, etc. Very Greek. But it fit.

It was lovely.

One of my favorite lines was:

"So I set the fucking earth on fire, OKAY?"

It was a good play.

Anyone around the Edmonton area should go see it.

I think it's a Canadian play.

.

Rosie.

Before&After