We'll see: some irritance
May 02, 2005 - 11:51 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

A few things now:

I got mad at Loren on Saturday (which is a bit of a deal, because I don't get mad very often; on the other hand I've been irrationably irritable lately).

We planned to go to the carnival which was in town, and I was really looking forwards to it. We'd planned to since earlier in the week, when I found out it was coming to town.

Anyway, Saturday:

I went to the market with my paintings and ended up selling the *whole lot* to one guy.

Holy shite! I know!

Anyway. Lots of people stopped and read them and laughed, but one guy came up and read them and laughed for five minutes straight and then said:

"I must have them! All of them! How much?"

"Well, I was selling them for $20 a piece, with the series of three at $50, but for all of them? How about $75?"

"Done! Deal! Here--" He gave me a $25 down deposit then went up town to the bank machine and came back and gave me the rest.

I was reeling! He bought *all five paintings*! I was expecting maybe selling one (I particularely liked the 'If love were a Bear Trap' one). I gave him a bit of a discount because he was buying all of them.

Also, I sold one of my small framed ones that I had in the art show last November, and a couple of the Nepalese prints my dad gave me.

Over a hundred dollars in the end. I was pleased. :D

Anyway, back to why I was mad at Loren.

So after the market (which he said he'd show up to, to see my work, but never actually showed up until the market had just closed, so missed seeing my paintings) Loren drove Judy and me home.

He kissed me and said, "I have two or three hours of work to do still. After that we'll go to the carnival."

I was a little dissapointed. I was hoping to get there during the day, and at this rate we wouldn't get to the carnival until 6pm at the latest.

I grinned and beared it, though. It wasn't a big deal.

So I wait. And wait. Finally I get a call from him:

"I got done early. I'm just playing guitar now. I'll pick you up in half an hour."

Anyway...AN HOUR later he still hasn't shown up. It's eight o'clock and he calls me.

"I'll be there in ten minutes!"

"You were supposed to be here half an hour ago!"

"I know! I'm sorry! I'll be there in ten minutes!"

"Fine!" say I, a little sharper than I was intending. "You better be."

Anyway...HALF AN HOUR LATER he FINALLY rolls up, and I am *irritated*. It's eight-thirty. It's getting dark, and getting cold, and we're *finally* going to the carnival.

He picked up that something was wrong pretty quick (I should have told him straight out, but I didn't feel like talking) and asked me what was wrong.

So I told him, pretty forcefully, that I wasn't happy with him forcing me to sit around and wait for so long.

Anyway, he cheers me up and tells me he'll make it up to me later (purr), and we go on a couple rides (he doesn't like carnival rides, so I went on most of them by myself). We played a few games, and he won me a couple weird little stuffed toys.

That was fine.

Then we went and rented Anchorman (which sucks; it's probably a good party movie, but nothing else). I fell asleep after the first half an hour.

When the movie was over he shuffled me off to bed, but I was too tired to do anything so I just slept.

I'm more or less over that, though it still does kind of irritate me when I think about it.

Anyway, so yesterday was Mark's birthday (the bassist and lead singer of the band Loren's in), and there was a barbeque in celebration.

Also there was the 350th episode of Simpsons, a new Family Guy and the premier of American Dad, which I *really* wanted to see. Not to be a geek or anything.

Now, don't get me wrong, I like Mark, but I'm not close friends with him, but Loren and I had planned to watch this before we decided to go to the barbeque.

"How about we go out for a little bit, then come back in time to see it?" suggests he.

"Sounds good," say I, because I did want to wish Mark a happy birthday. "On the way back we can stop at Dairyqueen." (We were going to go out for ice cream the day before, but yeah, that didn't happen either.)

Yeah, it didn't happen.

We eventually tried recording the shows on the hosts' VCR, but I don't think it worked.

That was alright, though, even if I was really tired by the end (I'd been drinking a little and smoking the Kootenay green a little).

"Oh, I have a little work to do before we go home."

"You...what?"

"Out at Cam's--" (Loren's taking care of his house while he's away in...New York? Vancouver? Something like that.) "--it'll only be half an hour, max, less if you help me."

What was I to do? I wanted him home in as short a time as possible, so I went with him and helped, though I eventually fell asleep bent over a table.

And again, when we got home, I was too tired to do anything, which sucked because he was initiating.

So I just went to sleep.

But it hasn't helped me being irritable at all.

And I still haven't figured out why I'm so irritable lately. I've been getting close to tears for no reason, too, and I'd like to *find* the reason so I can deal with it.

~

On another, entirely different note, I need to find a new layout for my diary. It appears that my old one (which I really liked!) has gone kaput (the site that hosted it must have gone under).

If anyone sees anything out there that they thing I might like, drop me a note, or an email?

I tend towards dark or black background with white or light text, with female figures or images (though I'm not against men), and the overall feel I like to be dreamlike or slightly bizarre.

~

I emailed the production manager at the Neptune Theatre in Halifax but s/he said that they didn't think they were hiring at the moment, but asked me to send a resume in case something came up.

So we'll see.

I'm going to also try the Victoria theatre in Halifax. (They're seating capacity is insane! Like, 1500 people!)

We'll see.

I hate to move away. It would mean breaking up with Loren, because I don't think he'll come with me. He's been dropping little hints to that respect, and although I don't like the idea, I can't settle down, not yet. I see where he's coming from.

So we'll see.

.

Rosie.

Before&After