Goddamned mother
May 09, 2005 - 6:36 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

So.

Today, I'm at home, listening to the tv while drawing.

My mother starts getting all weird on me. Angry-weird, I mean. Illogically angry.

So I leave.

I just up...and leave. I don't want to deal with it. It's her own goddamned problem if she can't think straight.

So I leave. I'm mad, and I leave.

I sit in the Redfish Grill for a while. Drink tea. Draw. Talk to the waiter.

Then I go to the Kootenay Cobblers, to check out shoes (nothing I like).

Then to the library where I spend a nice few hours investigating different versions of Cinderella and inspecting illustrations for children's books.

Then I'm hungry, so I go to Extra Foods and get some potato salad, bump into Judy, and end up going over to her place for tea and period rosary making (mine bust in the middle, so I just settled for tea drinking).

And then I go home.

"I don't want you just walking out, Rosie, like you did today," says my mother. "Why did you leave, anyway?"

I pause uncomfortably. "Because your temper was getting...moody."

"It was not," my replies firmly with wide innocent eyes. "I was just fine."

Let *me* be the judge of that, thank you.

"What are you going to do about your room?"

"It'll get done, mom."

"I wanted you to do it today. Why didn't you do it when I told you?"

"Because I was in the middle of drawing, that's why!"

"You were not!"...What?! My mother here is actually contesting whether or not I was in the middle of drawing. "You were on the computer, then you made yourself something to eat, then sat down and ate it, and just stayed! You were at the beginning!"

Okay. Now. When I'm drawing, 'just starting' to draw is right at the beginning of a new picture with rough pencil sketches. 'In the middle' is in the middle of the drawing, and right on towards the end of the drawing when it's nearly done.

It doesn't matter if I put it down and pick it up later, when I pick it up I'm in the middle of the drawing.

AGH.

Anyway, I phoned Loren in hopes of refuge, but he'd gone to band practice, so I'm stuck here for the next six hours avoiding my mother.

I wish her brain worked more logically, that's all I can say.

.

Rosie.

Before&After