Ode to the Theatre God
July 18th, 2001 - 7:28 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

~Ode to the God of the Theatre~

Oh, he was big,

And he was strong,

And...

Oh, to hell with that. I suck at composing rhyming stuff. But I would just like to take the time to say that I think Geoff Burns is the greatest teacher on the face of this planet. (No offense meant, but he's really great.) He's a director for local plays, as well, and absoloutly phenominal. It's not that what he does is deep, nor is it spiritual or frilly, but it's practical, straight forward, enjoyable, with nothing left out. If the play will overall be better for some tiny detail, like hell he's gonna leave it out.

And he's wonderful with people. Like, absoloutly wonderful. Like, beyond wonderful. He's...well...phenominal. He can handle kids without making them feel like children, treats everyone as an equal...Like, he can criticize without making the person feel horrible, and handle emotional friction without a bat of an eyelash. Not to mention he can direct one of the youth summer plays, then go to the teens raging cast party and fit in just fine. (Apparently a couple years ago someone caught a picture of Geoff and the musical director, who's just as wonderful, Allison, at the teens cast party, grinning from ear to ear, dressed in a toga, with their hands behind their backs...to hide the beer...)

And he takes care of his cast. Not with the 'I'm serious, I want a heart to heart' kind of thing, but if someone looks ill or tired he offers a grin and a joke and advice, be it not to forget to sleep, or to stop trying to do handstands on the stairs.

Like when I stood up too fast today. He knew I hadn't been feeling too well and hadn't been pushing me too hard, but when I blacked out in the hallway and stumbled a little he poked me and told me that "fainting is against the rules! Now, don't forget to eat and sleep...Have you been eating and sleeping enough lately?" And when did I last eat? Not like he had time to stick around for more than an affirmative that I was perfectly fine, but he's the happy sort of director...

And he's right. The director, the moment he becomes the director, is the God of the Theatre. One must obey the God of the Theatre. The musical director, stage manager, props manager, and other such people are Lesser Dieties, and their word can only be over ridden by the God of the Theatre.

He's great.

That's about all I have to say on this subject.

~End of the Ode to the Theatre God~

Alright. On to more mundane stuff.

Oo! I had an epiphany today. Well, it wasn't quite as big as that. It was more of a revelation...See, I knew all the characters I'd played in theatre were somewhat...hollow. And I realized why! Isn't that great?

I suppose you want to know what made them hollow, eh?

Finefine. See, I was going through the motions, but half of it is the thought that counts. Unless you're playing a character that just doesn't think. But it's the thought that counts, as I said before. You have to actually *think* what your character would be thinking. React to the thoughts, be it lines, facial movements, what ever. Just *think* it...

I feel special now.

Oh, I saw Nat today. Back from Ireland. He shaved his beard. I hardly recognized him at first, because I really hadn't seen his face at all. He's got a very boyish cuteness about him.

Let's see...

I also saw Tyler.

And Dylan.

And Roland, but only from afar.

And Brennain.

And..what's her face. I can't remember her name right now. Shord, broad, dyke...She's nice. I wish I could remember her name.

Oh! And I saw Ed! Multiple times, from afar. He walked by once and said hullo, but he was on business and couldn't stop...

Oooow...My neck, throat and kidney still hurts...

Ah well. C'est la vie.

*smooches*

Adieu, mes amies.

.

Rosie.

Before&After