A weekend, part 2
August 8th, 2001 - 1:38 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Well, now is later. Back at home. Back on my own computer.

It's going to be really weird sleeping in my own bed without anyone else. I snagged Nathan (or he snagged me...in the SCA he's my uncle Arawn) the second night of Clinton because it was so bloody cold. Bedwarmer. Mmm. A lot of people snagged bedwarmers. I almost regret catching him so early for a bedwarmed after meeting Tavis the Courteous (I got a few strange vibes from him, probably because he reminded me so much of this rather untrustworthy male I know, but as I've been told and as I've seen he's a very honourable young man), and several other of the very swoon-worthy males around the site. There was the one particular young man...I would have pegged him at about twenty...but anyway, he was quite something. Camped at the very End of the World (meaning the farthest edge of the area you were allowed to camp) with a bunch of other teenagers. He looked to be rather mainstream, but let's see if I can describe him...tall, I'm guesing six three, natural blond hair (but not the really light kind, shot through with streaks of darker brown around the hairline), solid build, broad shoulders, rather muscular. A little shy, I think. A quiet, bashful smile. You know, the kind that betrays their shyness. The kind where they're not usually shy, but this really isn't their scene. I met him in someone's stall while listening to the girl sitting on his lap read the palm of the stall owner. I paid her to read my palm afterwards. She figured out I was an actor, artistic, that I pick and analise things to pieces, that I put my body through a lot to prove myself, and dispite my outer appearances I'm a very solid person and I know where I stand. And she said I had an 'air hand', which, if I'm not mistaken, is the same title assosiated with Libras. Air. I'll have to double check that, though. I liked it. I've always wanted to have my palm read.

You know, I wish I had gotten that dagger in that stall. Well, nearly all the stalls were selling them, but there was this one stall, a little down Merchants Row, that sold this dagger I really wanted for twenty dollars. It was beautiful, and I'm sure if you saw it you'd agree. Long, about the length from wrist to the crook of the arm, and thin, the blade wasn't much wider than my thumb. The handle was a polished dark reddish wood fixed with brass fittings, and just a little longer than my middle finger. The sheath was a dark brown leather, oiled, and able to hang comfortably from the belt. Twenty bucks. That was the cheapest I could find it. There was another version of the dagger, larger, but it didn't ever go for cheaper than twenty seven bucks. Didn't want to spend that much. But the smaller one was perfect, absoloutly beautiful. There's two cheaper blades I kind of regret not getting. One was a small plain blade with a black metal ridged handle and a little leather sheath, meant to be tucked somewhere rather than hang from the belt. The other was a silver leaf. It was a really cool little blade. The leaf opening in half, revealing a wickedly sharp little blade. That was meant to be hung from something. I was *this* close to buying it. I did but tiny little cheap blade to keep in my bodice. Tatsu bought me a lovely little knife about the length of my hand. I wish the parts that were plastic on it were wood, but hey. Y'can't have everything, now, can you? Speaking of gifts, the day we left Tatsu also gave me the most beautiful silver Celtic knotwork ring I've ever seen. I think he was intending to put it on my wedding ring finger (after all, his persona is courting my persona) but I always wear my hemetite band on that finger. I hadn't been wearing it that weekend because I didn't want to lose it, but I think that's what he was intending...I suppose I wear that hemetite ring as a sort of protection. If the male knows I love him enough to give up my most precious ring to place his ring in it's place, he will take that ring from my finger and place his in it's place. As it stands right now, I don't love anyone that much (expect maybe my daddy).

Heheheh. Just thinking of random things that happened over the weekend here...one such amusing event was at the Rapier for Beginners Ithra class. It's very windy in Clinton, and was particularely windy that day. Now, the class was to one side of the court field (the field where court is held, duh), under this little wall-less pavillion like thing. Unfortunately for us, who ever put it up didn't screw the middle pole in properly. Now, this wasn't a bad thing, as it stayed up perfectly fine except when the wind picked it up and shook it. The pole fell out twice into the middle of our class (didn't hurt anyone, thank god), so two of the fighters decided it needed to be screwed back in. Tightly. So I offered to hoist Wolf up (looking back, I don't know if I could have. That's one muscular man) to screw the pole in. But Wolf and the other fighter would have nothing of the sort and promptly pushed me up there (Wolf did take the opertunity to give my thigh a thorough biting...y'can't really blame him, though, it *was* exactly right *there*)...but I couldn't screw it tight enough, so I asked if one of them could get me a stick for some leverage action...in which case they both promptly let go and left me hanging from the top of the tent, legs wrapped around the middle pole. It was a most amusing experiance. I ended up using one of the guy's belt knives. It was a most entertaining experience.

Did I already mention what I thought about our King?...Naw, it's nothing bad at all. I think he's great. Well, great as in the populace loves him, but whether he does a good job or not I really couldn't say. I don't pay much attention to that sort of thing. But he has a way with words and a way of playing to the audience and his smile is infectious. I always attended court (except on the last day, I didn't feel like getting up) just because, dispite all the boring solomn oath swearings of fealty, the various dubbing of titles, recognitions, and blahdyblahdywhathaveyou...it was fun. It really was. There was always something that happened that was roaringly funny. Absoloutly and insanely funny. (Once this jester appeared out of no where and slowly began sneaking around the court with his hat and bells...and was eventually hunted by the King's bodygaurds and pinned to the ground by sticking a spear through his pants by the King's orders...it was amusing...)

Wow. I'm writing a lot. But there's so much to say! So little to say, so much time...er. Reverse that.

Mm. What else happened. A lot of stress, if I do say so myself. There was quite a few fights, but things like that happen all the time mundanely or SCAly.

Next Clinton I'm going to figure out a way to tape my chest down, get some male garb, and go as a frilly swishy-poke male. Did I already say that? Ah well, it doesn't matter.

You know what I find highly amusing? The friendship between Nathan and I is more cuddly and affectionate and comfortable than it ever was when we were going out. Peculier, if I do say so myself...

I should have gotten Draven's email address.

Tomorrow, I think I'll write a brief letter to Wolf, seeming as he doesn't have email, just to let him know I'm still alive...or to make sure he's still alive. Sheesh. He's 29. Kinda creepy, though somehow it doesn't bother me all that much. We relate as friends really well.

Mm. I really like this ring. Like, a lot.

Oo, I bought a necklace for Laura but *shhh*. Don't tell her. Not until tomorrow...later today...when I'll hopefully give it to her. It's not as nice as the one I had originally given her for her birthday last year, but it's a Celtic knot also. It's pewter rather than silver, but I couldn't afford the silver ones and they were all outrageously large. They wouldn't have looked right on Laura's neck. It's a nice necklace anyway. I hope she likes it...I did find some smaller ones, but they were cheap looking...this one isn't perfect, but it's a helluva lot better.

I didn't buy much else. I already said I bought a cheap little dagger to keep in my bodice, didn't I? Yes, I think I did. I bought bits of food here and there (mostly from the crazy but adorable singing Franch lady...she was great), but I managed to return with about half the food I took with me, and about ten pounds lighter.

And I found out Nathan has a heavenly voice. You know that song at the begining of Moulon Rouge? The one about the boy who said 'The greatest thing you'll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return'? Yes, well he sung that one night in the Flaming Lemming Tavern at, like, 2am, and he sung it *so* beautifully...like, exactly like whosit or whatsisface in the movie. It was so...*wow*. I made him sing it again later, on the way to Vernon. *le sigh* I *love* that song. Maybe I can find it on mp3. Speaking of mp3, I'm gonna go find Sable's website of that page. Yup. That's what I'm going to do. My mind has kind of blanked out as to what else significant happened and who else I met...

So I bit thee adieu, mes amies. 'Til we speak again.

*smooches*

.

Rosie.

Before&After