Golden Swan, Part III
October 10, 2001 - 5:15 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Part III...

Hm. Damn my bad memory. Dammit. Everything is fading...

But anyway...after the feast I head to the Inn Ni to actually sit down. Which felt /so/ nice, though my feet were so sore that they even hurt with the weight of my legs while sitting...

Then I went and got my apple and my cloves and cloves that apple for all it was worth...I got that apple back a couple times. Funny, I ended up kissing more women that night than men...Huh. Go figure.

And I found a yellow watermelon in the feast hall that was about the size of my fist, which I cloved within an inch of it's life, too...Missy didn't believe me when I told her it was a cloven watermelon (it was dark and in the middle of a roaming ameba...I know I spelled that wrong...) but was amazed when she got in into the light.

Ya. The roaming amoeba (hey! I'm trying!) was amusing...I see this mass of giggling blackness outside the Den, so I approach cautiously...and am imediately sucked into the center and thrown around with no mercy. It was amusing actually. We travelled from the Den to the Troll Gate and back again. Tripping over each other, of course. Sunny had a bit much mead and proved to be quite amusing and ever the more so sunny. She really has got the most beautiful sunny face I'd ever seen.

Anyway...so I head back to the tavern after the amoeba broke up and scattered and talked with the squires for a while, and ended up being quite abandoned by most all conversation, except for the quiet one, Sigurd. (I could never remember his name, and had to get him to repeat it for me umpteen times. I eventually remembered it (obviously) after he mentioned that the Shire that Vancouver Island is has the same name. That's something I can remember.)

And then Eric got hold of the cloven watermelon.

God help us all.

No offense, Eric, but I don't really like you. You make me uneasy and I'm extremely unsettled to be around you. But that doesn't mean I'm about to be rude. One must always be courteous.

So I muttered a horrified "Oh my /god/..." and quickly averted my eyes, in desperate hopes he wouldn't notice me.

Then I hear this soft voice in my ear: "Milady, would you like to leave?"

Which is promptly answered with an urgent: "Yes, /please/..."

A chuckle. "I saw that look of horror cross across your face when he announced his...'power'. Shall we?"

"/Definately/."

And so that's how conversation really started with Sigurd.

And so we left and sat outside the feast hall by the braiser (brasier? Something like that...) and talked for quite a while. Then he walked me to my tent, bid a fair good night, and dissapeared. I probably would have invited him in to be my bed warmer, but I didn't really catch that aura from him, and I didn't really want a bedwarmer, even if my feet were going to be cold.

And so I slept. And was warm, save for my feet, which were icy. Freezing. So I spent most of the night curled in the fetal position, trying to keep them warm. It worked, but I don't sleep well in that position. I like to sleep rod straight on my front.

And thus, I woke. And was too late for breakfast. I tried, I ran, but didn't make it. Malcolm was saving the last breakfast for some fellow who had forgotten his money. Turns out he changed his mind and I could have gotten breakfast anyway. But what ever. So I didn't eat. I had barely a scrap of food to my name...I could have hunted down that cloven apple and eaten that, I suppose, but that's just icky. It'd probably been outside all night, with all those cloves in it...

But I got some food later. A sausage and what was left of Bliss' greek salad. I never realized how tasty onions and peppers could me (I hate them normally) when you're really hungry.

And with that, I pulled out my needlework and was just sitting down to do some stitching, when up comes Missy.

"Marrriiiee...can you water bear today?"

"Oog. Let me sit for a little and do my needlework, then I'll do some."

Turns out I never did, because soon it was:

"Marie! Bruz needs you for some heralding!"

Stupid me thought it was just an announcment.

"I'm here. What do you need?"

"Someone to herald the tournament..."

"Eh?!"

"Please?"

Me, being the gullible person that wants to help: "Certainly. I don't know what I'm doing, though..."

"That's okay, just read this out every time and replace this with this and this every time..."

"Uh...okay..."

Eek! Have to run /again/. Dinner, you know.

But look out for Part IV tomorrow. ;)

.

Rosie.

PS, IT'S MY BIRTHDAY TOMORROW! Egad. Seventeen. Scary.

Before&After