With a frog frog here, and a frog frog there....
January 05, 2004 - 2:55 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Hahaha.

I love astounding my roommates. It brings me such joy.

I try things that I wouldn't necessarily try making, just because I know that if I succeed (and I almost always do) it will astound my roommates, especially Jess.

"What did you buy the gold cord for, Rosie?"

"Oh, I'm going to make frogs--"

Side note: For those non-sewers, a 'frog' is the term used for the 'buttons' that are most commonly found on oriental shirts, the kind that's made from knotted cord on one side, and a loop of cord on the other.

"--because the ones at Fabricland were $5.50 for one, and I can't afford that."

"...have you ever made a frog before?"

"No."

"But...but...Agh. Rosie. You're nuts."

"Yes, but I know the technical workings of it, and isn't that all I need to know?"

And ten minutes later I'd knotted a monkey fist (the kind of knot used; it's also used in theatre, so I just looked it up in my backstage handbook) and sewn together the decorative loops.

"AGH! Rosie! You just made a frog!"

"Yeah. I'm pretty pleased with it."

I finished it off by sealing the back with sewing glue, to keep anything from unravelling or coming unstitched. It dries kind of rubbery, but washable and sewable and clear, so I was happy.

So I made frogs. I'd never made 'em before, but I understood them, and that's all I really needed.

It was fun.

And funny, so I got twice the bang for my buck.

Whoo.

.

Rosie.

Before&After