An Award of Arms conversation that I'd forgotton about
February 03, 2004 - 7:08 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I was just thinking about the SCA.

And I remember talking to a young lord (not 'Lord', but simply 'lord') about awards and titles (Conrad had just got his Award of Arms).

Me: "Man, I hope to get my Award of Arms some day."

Him: "Me too."

"How long have you been in the SCA?"

I don't remember how long he'd said, but he was definately a newbie. *Maybe* a little over a year, but nothing more than that. "How long've you been in?"

"About four years."

"Cool."

"When do you think you'll get your AoA?"

"Oh, within the next ten months or so."

My eyes nearly popped out of my head, I'm sure.

"Within the next *ten months*?!" I've heard of people going for ten years in the SCA before getting their Award of Arms. "Why within ten months?"

"For service in the Barony. When do you think you'll get yours?"

I gave a little bitter laugh. "Oh, within five years if I'm lucky. I'm in a small, little paid attention to Shire."

"Oh."

Man, if I could get my AoA within ten months....Hot damn. I think that boy is in for a bit of surprise, but then again, I don't know how Barony's work much. I've always been a Shire girl.

.

Rosie.

Before&After