A really lovely date
June 24, 2004 - 1:10 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

So Loren came and picked me up, and since all the coffee shops were closed, we decided to go for a beer instead.

Save for the fact I don't like beer much, and usually just drink sambuca and coke.

So that's what I had; he bought (thank god! I'm so broke it hurts).

We played two games of pool (be beat me, barely, at one game, and we got creamed by two other guys playing doubles), then sat off in a corner by the window. It was nice and secluded and not very noisy, which I liked.

He bought the next two rounds, too, and I nursed my third drink very carefully because I was feeling the liquor.

And we talked about stuff, and talked more, and then talked some. We talked about all sorts of stuff, and it was nice.

"But my girlfriend--"

Fuck! thought I. A girlfriend. Oh well, what the hell, he'll still make a great friend. I didn't even falter, because I had enough booze in me.

But later:

"And my girlfriend...well, *ex*-girlfriend..." Hmm. Well, he slipped up once, he probably did before.

I *had* heard he'd recently ended a longish relationship...I know I still called Mike my boyfriend for a couple months after we broke up, purely by habit.

Then later we got on the topic of relationships and the like, and he confirmed what I'd heard: he'd broken up with his girlfriend about two months ago, and it hadn't been good.

Whew.

So I regain hope.

Anyway, we talk until the pub closes and then he gives me a ride home.

On the way home:

"What're you doing for the summer?"

"I don't know," says I. "Making as much money as I can."

"Well, what I meant was...Well, I was wondering if you wanted to see each other for the summer. Nothing long term, because I know you're going back to Red Deer, but just for the summer."

"Hmm," says I, thinking carefully. I don't like the idea of jumping straight into things. "This is definately not a no, and I'm certainly interested, but I've only known you a short while and would like things to progress...naturally."

"Mmm. I can understand that."

As we were sitting in his car out front of my house, I *really* hoped he would kiss me, and I almost thought he was going to once, but no. He didn't.

So we decided to get together again on Friday, and actually do coffee then.

And damn, I just remembered I have elections Canada training session on Friday.

Hrm.

I hope it works out.

.

Rosie.

Before&After