A lovely night ruined
March 13, 2006 - 11:33 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Last night. Karaoke.

I haven't been so mad in a long time.

Loren came for one drink, but Candace was driving me home so it was alright.

Eli and Dreas showed up, but Eli didn't stay. Dreas was oddly subdued, and was really nice to talk to (he's usually hyperactive and hard to get two words out of).

Scenario:

Candace is singing. I'm sitting with Dreas.

Brian, Drew, and Jordan walk in.

Now, I don't have a problem with any of them.

Yet.

But I might note that Drew and Candace openly hate each other.

So Drew comes, and very purposefully sits in Candace's chair (on top of her jacket and things, I might add).

I tell him it's her chair.

He tells me he doesn't care.

Candace returns, livid. Asks politely (though admittedly rather tartly) for her things which he is sitting on, and he plays dumb, so she yanks them from beneath him.

Drew, in his intelligent sort of way, proceeds to bash Candace RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME, even after I've asked him to at least hold off insulting her until I'm not around.

(Candace can hold her own, and she's on good terms with the bar staff and would have no problem getting him tossed out. On the other hand, it's extremely rude to completely disregard the feelings of people at your table, and do exactly the opposite of what they politely and nicely requested.)

I am livid.

I request, again, because he is/was one of my friends, to please hold off insulting her in front of me.

And he looks all innocent and shocked I would ask such a thing and says: "What? I'm just telling the truth."

We traded a few words, mine tart, his self-glorfyingly insulting.

My temper snapped.

I don't get angry very much, but I Got Angry.

I got so angry I was shaking with rage.

Brian and Dreas both looked a little blasted into their seats and wisely stayed out of the proceedings.

"You know what?" I said, standing. "Let's leave."

Candace still had a full drink, but was more than ready. It was virgin anyway (she was driving me home).

"Sounds good," she says.

"I'm not being insulting, I'm only telling the truth," says Drew, oozing shocked innocence, a smile hovering at the corners of his mouth as he maintained his self-righteous place in the matter.

God, I hate a man who smiles while he's causing pain.

"Yes, well sometimes the truth *is* an insult," I say (because god knows, Candace *can* be a bitch, but only with just cause), and we leave without looking back, pausing only to get Joe, the karaoke host's phone number (he wanted to know the brim width of a hat I've got here at home).

He could tell I was shaking with rage and asked me what was wrong.

I couldn't speak too coherently because I was still shaking, but he got the general gist.

Next time, he said, tell him or Rob, the bouncer, and Drew'll be kicked out.

I hate to do that, because Drew is/was a friend, but it might just come down the that. He totally ruined our night.

Fuck. Fuck this, and fuck Drew. I hope he gets really drunk and anally raped by a dom, male or female, I don't care.

That's unkind.

But I still kind of wish it.

.

Rosie.

Before&After