An assortment of thoughts, including Angry Inches and Hottubs
March 20, 2006 - 4:21 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I'm tired of being friends with Drew.

He enjoys pressing my buttons, and that's just not cool.

"You'll thank me for it one day," he says with a smug smile.

Yeeeeah, Drew. What ever. It could very easily go either way.

Anyway, Brian (who is very good friends with both Drew and I, but stays out of it) gave me a hug when I left and told me not to let it ruin my whole night.

I didn't.

You know why?

I WENT HOTTUBBING.

No, see. This is extra cool, because it was in a hot tub store.

One of my friends that was at karaoke last night works at the hottub store in town. His boss encourages him to bring friends in to use the one hottub they have hooked up (for promotional purposes, and because they want to test how long it'll last before something goes on it).

It was fantastic. I hadn't worn my bathingsuit in YEARS, but it still fit (sorta; it was tight all over).

I might mention this was the most expensive hottub in the whole place.

Something like $15,000.

Anyway. It had jets EVERYWHERE (I don't like jets; the adgetation makes me itch), including a right *volcano* in the middle (which appparently is very...exciting to sit on).

There were lights underwater that had several settings: fade, one solid colour, and STROBE.

A strobe!

Jeez.

There was a built in stereo with speakers around each of the head rests, an optional DVD played + screen, and a fountain.

Who needs a fucking fountain in a hottub?

Really.

Anyway, it was fun. The sauna was also up and working. It was steamless sauna. Ultra-violet, or something.

Apparently it fried electronics if you went in there with a cell phone or what ever.

It was good for drying off, but it only fit two people at once. Three if you were squished.

The front of the store is plate glass, and needless to say it was completely steamed and dripping with water by the time we were finished.

Fortunately for us, the store is closed on Mondays, so Dreas could go in and clean up before the store opened on Tuesday.

Colby showed up after a while.

Now, Colby is a greaser. In high school he hung out in the mechanics shop, and basically didn't talk about anything else. He always wore a greasy baseball cap, jeans, plaid shirts or stained t-shirts, and cowboy boots.

And he ALWAYS had huge chops.

Now, he's a trucker, and talks about little that I've heard beyond liquor, his truck, and his guns.

Anyway, he shows up.

I might note, I'm pretty hot when I'm damp.

That sounds silly, doesn't it?

But I have moderately curly hair. I pull it straight by wearing it in a pretty tight bun.

My face is very classically Greek (complete with that damned nose), and as Brian mentioned earlier in the night, I have very nice cream coloured skin (though, admittedly, I get my fair share of pimples around period time). With the heat, the colour rises in my cheeks and lips, and the moisture makes the wisps of hair around my face and neck curl and trickle down my neck (I try and keep my hair dry, usually).

Anyway, Colby had things to do, so he decided not to join in the hottub. I was getting ready to leave, so I was drying off outside the tub, too.

I like to think I'm witty. Loren says I'm witty; he says that's the first thing that impressed him about me.

Anyway, so I was dropping funnny, sharp little comments.

And Colby was staring at me with this peculiar expression on his face, like he was thinking this:

"A girl with a brain..."

"A girl with a brain?!"

"A girl with a brain!"

It was pretty funny. After that, he made an effort to talk to me. He remembered my name, and actually knew I did theatre (I don't know how; we've said all of three words to each other previous).

He started asking how he could get into theatre.

I shouldn't really be surprised, I suppose.

He's sung 'Hello Dolly' at karaoke before.

And he's really good at karaoke, too. It's very bizarre.

But I guess you gotta do something when you're trucking.

Anyway, he offered me a ride home, which was very nice of him, so I accepted (I was damp, and a twenty-minute walk away in night-winter weather).

I made a point, though, of mentioning Loren.

Don't get me wrong. I am definately NOT chasing Colby, but it was very flattering.

On a completely unrelated note, I've started sending out my resumes to cruise ships.

I realize this may mean, if I get a contract, that I'll miss Colleen's wedding, but I really need to stay alive.

Sorry, Colleen, but if I get offered a contract I'm going to have to take it because I'm at the end of my rope.

And on another unrelated note, I think I like Hedwig and the Angry Inch.

If you get a chance, listen to the song 'Tear Me Down' from Hedwig.

Hooray!

And I'm done.

.

Rosie.

Before&After