Charters and painting and bricks
September 14, 2006 - 12:04 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I just finished my first charter!

That is to say, I've finished painting a copied version of an illuminated scroll for a principality Award of Arms.

It's pretty sharp.

You know when you're doing art, and it just isn't going right, and then it smacks you in the head with a brick?

And then you stop. Stunned.

It's perfect, what ever it is.

A stroke of genius, maybe.

And it works perfectly from then on, and it turns out lovely, and you don't know what happened or how to replicate it, but it doesn't really matter because it's done.

Well, that's what I got with this one.

I'd started painting it; the picture was really just a very fancy letter M with a man sitting behind it, holding it. Early period. There were all sorts of frilly things around the M, and stylized flowers set into the ends.

I started painting his robes red.

Then I had to find something to match.

I tried an olive green for the M, but that looked weird (it shouldn't have).

Then I tried a bright green, which was better.

Then I got the brick.

Of course!

Brown M, like wood, and the frilly bits would be green, like leaves.

It took about three hours of painting and repainting, but it's done, it's done. I'm quite proud of it.

Maybe they'll even let me do some more. ;)

I really wanted to paint something that I'd be proud to receive, and I think I did it. The only thing that would make it perfect, would be if I could have used real (or fake) gold leaf. All I had was gold paint, which although good, wasn't as good as leaf.

Oh well.

Anyway, I still have to write my name on the back. Maybe people will see my name, and get me to do more!

Hooray!

.

Rosemart Destroys.

Before&After