The event and Tyne's corset
February 05, 2007 - 11:40 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Winter War was fun!

I served on Their Excellencies, Beothuk and Wilma's rentinue. It didn't involve much. I took pictures for Beothuk, and carried Wilma's purse and other things (the purse so she wouldn't spend all her money).

I took a lot of picture. Probably close to two hundred. Beothuk got the camera from me when he was done fighting and took a hundred more.

I participated in the A&S wars, hoping to win Montengarde a war point.

The challange was to take what they had on hand (a box of material, thread, a few beads, trim, ribbon, yarn and embroidery thread) and make a favor.

Well, I found some pieces of suede in the matieral box, and some shiny red satin and shiny blue something-or-another, and decided: HEY! I'm gonna make a leg!

So I did. It was a leg up to the thigh, with parti-coloured hose (the red and blue); the red side was stitched in silver pinstripes, and the blue side was stitched with silver diamonds. There was a working period shoe, with yellow thread accents, and a green garter, the ends of which were long enough to tie around your belt (and they ended in beaded and belled tassles).

Yeah. I totally won the war point. I RULE.

I got called up in court TWICE (okay, once, but for two different things), once to get a little favour from Wilma and Thuk, and then for recognition of winning the war point.

I didn't handle it very gracefully, I must admit. I was flustered and blushy and didn't know what to say, so I curtsied, said than you, and blushed a lot while they praised my leg.

I was freakin' pleased, though.

On the downside, my plate broke in transit. At least it wasn't an expensive one, though I am somewhat surprised that it broke. It was a really thick plate.

C'est la vie.

I'm starting on Tyne's corset, too. I have the lining and the shell finished. I need to insert the boning, and put on the piping, and etc. Except! I bought the eyelet boning (stiff steel spring boning with holes in it for eyelets) an inch and a half too long. Am I a dipshit, or what?

So Tyne's at work, cutting and grinding it for me.

Oh, and at this event, there was this super slimy merchant. I think he was a newbie, because he didn't seem to recognize the various pointy hats. And he would slither around, hawking his wares to people who weren't even near his table.

I think I was the only person who bought anything from him.

I didn't see anyone else buying anything from him, anyway.

I didn't buy these because of him. I bought them because they were pretty and cheap.

I bought a pair of earrings, which I'm sure are silver (and look hand-made, though he said they were cheap costume jewellry). They have huge wire hooks, and end in balls about an inch in diametre, all punched through with hearts and stars. Very cute. They're tarnished something awful, but I like the tarnished look.

Also, I bought a ring which he also said was costume jewellry, but was obviously gold plated once upon a time (it has it writtin on the inside, though the plate is starting to wear off around the edges). And judging by the set of the 'stone' (which is a beautiful dark topaz colour), I think it actually might be a stone.

It's definately set, not glued, and has a wide open back to let light through (it looks fantastic against my finger).

Who knows. It's probably old, cheap Avon jewellry. But I like it. I don't care if it's glass or stone, I'm keeping it.

Even if it is kind of gaudy. (The 'stone' is as big as my thumbnail; it's brilliant).

Anyway, I am hungry and need to eat, so adieu!

.

Rosie.

Before&After