On nights like these
April 18, 2007 - 12:07 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Sometimes, like tonight, I feel like a whirlwind, tied down with rules and responsibilities.

I want to throw myself to the wind, and see what happens.

Tonight is the type of night I want to find, as the lyric in Rent goes, "a bar so dark we forget who we are".

I want to stand on the top of my building and scream and cry at the sky, but I do neither.

I want to live in a driftwood shack on a stretch of solitary beach, and not talk to anyone for a year.

Instead I will probably just lean out the balcony, butt-ass naked, and squint at the tiny homeless below me, and wonder what it's like to be them.

I wonder where they go in winter. I wonder how the ones who stick around survive. I wonder how their lives are shortened by their life. I wonder if they're happy.

I also wonder about the piles of clothes that seem to appear magically. Personally, I think the homeless are dissolving.

Who knows.

.

Rosie.

Before&After