Archery and Tweety Bird
May 12, 2007 - 12:10 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

So I went to archery last night!

It was fun.

I had a pretty lightweight bow, but I upgraded partway through the night to a heavier pound bow.

We were shooting targets, and a pin-up of Tweety Bird, and playing cards mostly.

I did okay. Paul said I did exceptionally well, for a beginner. (I even beat him, Lucky Bob, and Donut out on a couple rounds of target practice! I never hit a bullseye when we were doing those, but more often than not I was hitting the target.)

And I hit Tweety Bird twice between the eyes in the exact same hole. Different rounds, mind.

I was going up to shoot at Tweety once, and I was buggin' Paul.

"Hey," I said. "Betcha can't hit Tweety in the eyes." (Keep in mind, there were two pictures of Tweety on this pin-up, in different positions.)

He snorted. "Weren't you watching before when I did it?"

I laughed. "No. Not at all."

"Fine," he said, and stepped up to the line. (It really is a thing of beauty to watch Paul shoot; he has amazing lines.)

Thunk. Thunk. Thunk. Thunk.

He only missed one eye.

Needless to say, I was suitably impressed.

And later, Donut wanted to shoot at something else, so he grabbed the ace of spades and pinned it up on the target.

"Hey Doooonut," Paul taunted. "If you hit the ace, I'll buy you dinner."

"Alright," Donut said, and shot. He didn't hit the card, but he got very close.

"So," said Paul. "What do I get if I hit the ace?"

Donut just laughed nervously as Paul stepped up to the line and drew.

Thunk.

First shot went wild. Paul muttered a few obscenities, and drew again.

Thunk.

"There," said Paul, grinning at the arrow sticking out of the card.

Upon closer inspection, he didn't quite hit the ace in the middle, but he took a chunk out of the side of the ace. Still, it was close enough to be fuckin' impressive.

What a pretty boy...

And an exceptional teacher. He's obviously taught archery before. And he's not a condescending teacher, and doesn't play favorites when he teaches. When he's talking archery, it's all about archery.

Yeah, I'm just all gushy. Shush.

And yeah, I'm still worried he's playing me.

.

Rosie.

Before&After