A twenty sided dice
May 18, 2007 - 12:00 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I have been hanging out with Paul a great deal lately.

He is a very straight-forwards person. He doesn't beat around the bush, at all (figuratively, anyway).

"I'm going to hang up and go to bed."

"I'll drive you home now."

"Wanna go make out?"

It's a bit startling. I'm used to taking things at a slant, for as much as I try to be straight forwards.

He doesn't seem to mean any of it in a mean way at all. Just he's tired, and wants to go to sleep. Or he has other plans, and needs to send me home. Or he's a horny bastard.

Tomorrow I'm going to go to archery with him again. It's strange. For all Loren wasn't into public affection, Paul REALLY isn't in to public affection. Paul treats me absolutely no differently than anyone else (except when no one's looking).

I don't entirely know what to make of it.

I get the feeling Paul doesn't do any sort of public displays of affection because it's nobody else's business but our own.

It's interesting to note the difference between people.

It's interesting to note Paul's different facets. He rolls them over like a dice.

He's efficient, mechanical, and a good teacher when he's in his element (archery, leather working), and a lost, giggling puppy when he's not (sewing, painting). And then there's the in between facet that he settles into for regular function, which is a curious mix of pure confidence, and childish curiosity. There's the facet he shows to his roommates (which is very similar to the one he shows to me), and the one he shows to his friends. The one he uses when talking in court. The one he uses to deal with people he doesn't know.

It's curious, really. And he devotes himself whole-heartedly to each of these facets.

I wonder how many other shades of him there are.

Before&After