My Chemical Romance
May 19, 2007 - 1:23 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Worked Saddledome tonight, first time.

Got in early. Knew a couple faces vaguely.

Worked hard. Hard hard hard. I knew I was going to work hard, and I pushed it a little bit, because it was my first call. I'm a little sore now.

I made one foul up. I was just pulling a box from a position I shouldn't have been.

The crew head pulled me out of the crew and explained why I shouldn't pull like I did.

I was embarrassed I didn't pick up on it, but I listened intently, thanked him, and didn't do it again.

That must have pleased him, because he asked what my name was, and then we ended up talking a bit later and he gave me some tips on how to really get busy in the union (namely, phoning once a week or so, just to let the union caller know I'm available).

I think I made a good impression, anyway, because when I wasn't actively pushing boxes into the truck, I was nearby, close enough to leap in if something went wrong (that only happened a couple times).

At one point I accidentally bumped one of the other guys, or stepped on his toe (I don't remember) and I automatically apologized.

He said: "No, don't apologize when you're leaping in to help. Most people here don't seem to realize that truck loading is not a spectator sport. It's nice to see someone working."

Although it was an entirely new group of people, and an entirely new space, I think I did well. I constantly found work to do; I was rarely idle for a minute or two without specific permission.

All in all, I had a good time. I was grinning a lot. I think my grin must be infectious, because people were automatically grinning back, and drifting towards me to talk when we weren't doing anything.

Oh yeah, the show was My Chemical Romance. And yeah, I saw the band backstage. They're very sallow, tired looking folk. I didn't envy them.

Right now, *I* feel tired and sallow.

Screaming fangirls were crowding the fence. There were a number of security guards patrolling the fence, to keep them out. It was kind of funny, really.

Anyway. Now I have a My Chemical Romance tshirt. It's totally becoming a work shirt (unless anyone out there wants to give me money for it).

Ouch. Time for bed.

.

Rosie.

Before&After