Putting up new shoots
March 01, 2008 - 6:10 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Remember when my lymph node was all crazy swollen about a month ago, and was giving me an earache?

Yes, well, I took the antibiotics, and the swelling went down (my lymph node feels normal again, huzzah!), but my *ear* still hurts.

Not nearly as bad as it did when my lymph node was swollen, and the doctor *did* check out my ear when I went in (and said it was fine; it was just my super swollen lymph node putting pressure on that area).

Still. It hasn't gotten any worse, but it hasn't gotten any better. It's a faint background ache that wasn't there before my golf-ball-lymph-node.

It makes me want to put a hot pack on it, though I don't know how on earth that would help.

In other news, I've decided to try growing things. With no pets allowed in my apartment building, the apartment feels very...stagnant. Even living with Tyne there was the fish, Pavlov, and Stu the Bunny, and a couple of house plants.

Cormac has one sad house plant given to him by his girlfriend (it apparently is poisonous to birds, so she gave it away instead of the bird). It looks a little bit like thick, short bamboo stems with two broad, almond shaped leaves each.

It's really a sad looking plant.

Mind, now that the weather is warming and the sun's out more (we get the setting sun full on in our livingroom), it's started putting out more leaves.

Anyway, it started with one day when I was eating a grapefruit and I found an enormous seed in it that felt just bursting with life (I know, I'm a tree-hugging hippie weirdo).

So I poked a hole in the dirt in Cormac's houseplant, put the seed in, covered it up and promptly forgot about it.

Until last week.

I was walking by the plant last week and noticed a tiny green shoot pushing up from the soil, right where I'd put in the seed.

OMGWTFBBQ!

I was excited. I have since told Cormac I planted a grapefruit seed in his plant (he thought that was pretty funny, and agreed to leave it be until it's big enough that I can transplant it). And also, it is now about an inch high with four tiny glossy leaves.

And this grapefruit seed led me to, after finding an old onion desperately trying to grow in a darkened drawer, plant the onion instead of throwing it out.

The onion is *thriving* in the sun and the soil and the regular waterings. It's growing all crazy, like kooky old man hair, and permeates the air with the smell (but not the eye watering quality!) of onions. I like the spicy smell.

And *that* led me to want to try growing a rosemary plant again. I had one I was very fond of, but it didn't like the climate change between Nelson and Calgary, so it died.

So I bought a couple packets of seeds, some potting soil, and some pots, and I'm now trying to grow a rosemary plant, a basil plant, a tomato plant, and a watermelon plant.

Yes, a watermelon plant.

In a pot.

On my kitchen table.

...

HOORAY FOR ADVENTURES!

If the watermelon plant actually takes off, I will transplant it into a large, floor sitting pot, and see if I can't get an actual watermelon out of the sucker.

Wouldn't that be hysterical?

Well, funny anyway.

I am very pleased with myself, as you may be able to tell.

Time to water everything!

.

Rosie.

Before&After