Blasts from the Past
March 31, 2008 - 12:28 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

WOW.

Alright.

So I check my facebook, yeah?

One new message.

Cool! thinks I, It's that Brian guy messaging me back! Or something!

(A couple weeks ago I randomly messaged some guy telling him his beard was nice, and he messaged me back, and so we've been talking ever since. We seriously have little in common, but it's interesting to talk to someone completely different than me.)

No. No, it wasn't Brian...

It was some disgustingly hot guy. Messaging me out of the blue. Claiming he knows me, or thinks he does.

The message went:

"don't know if you remember me but if you are who i think you might be we were e-mail buddies a long time ago on the desk messaging service. Write back if you are."

And I think. And I think. I have always been very active online, and have always found people to talk to.

I start writing an email back telling him he's mistaken, and then I reread the message again.

...desk messaging service...

...desk...

Does he mean DESK? The local distance education school? I did grade nine by distance education, because junior high was a pretty miserable time for me.

And I *did* have two penpals via their messaging service...a girl, who lived in this little fruit stand town about five hours away, and a boy who lived up the valley...

I can't remember either of their names, but I remember the boy had a very traditional, religious name (I think he was home schooled because of his parent's religion, which I thought was weird), and the girl's last name was that of a bird (Finch, I think).

Well, this guy who messages me, his name is Abraham.

I remember very little about my conversations with either of them, except I always looked forwards to their messages, and the boy and I talked about ideal sledding locations a lot during the winter.

This will be interesting. I'm surprised he remembers me, much less managed to track me down via Facebook (it's even odder to see that we have some friends in common, though I suppose I shouldn't be surprised, considering that - judging by the pictures on his page - he looks like the type of person I'd be friends with, too).

I messaged him with a simple: "You mean the distance education messaging system?"

Man. I haven't thought of that boy and the sledding for years.

Curiouser and curiouser...

.

Rosemart the Curious.

Before&After