Musings on writing
April 01, 2008 - 11:48 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I AM MADE OF WIN.

It's true.

I've been writing a lot lately. Just pencil and paper, nothing on the computer. I've been thinking a lot on my novel (that's been in the works FOREVER, just like everybody else's).

Anyway, I started to get a bit ahead of myself. I tend to write a page or two of pivotal scenes in my notebook by my bed, but I started writing this one scene the other day...and I just couldn't stop. It's not finished, and my fingers are itching to take up the pencil again.

It's easily ten pages now. And I need to hack my way through this tough traveling bit (it's kind of boring to write, because not a whole lot happens for the next few pages beyond character development and relationship expansions). I like when things *happen*. I don't like writing exposition, but I like writing dialog.

Mind, it's the same with me and reading. I prefer reading dialog to reading exposition. Exposition is rarely dynamic enough to keep me interested.

Anyway...Where was I going with this?

...Oh yes. I AM MADE OF WIN.

So I opened up my novel today to work on it, and I tend to read back a page or two to get an idea of where I was.

I did, all is fine, and I'm writing. And I forget what the weather is like in this scene, so I have to roll back ten pages or so.

And I start reading..

...and keep reading...

...and keeep reading...

...until I realize, I've caught myself in my own writing! *I* want to know what happens next!

Unfortunately, I have to do all the work to find out what happens next (though I have the basic plot notes laid out).

Fortunately, I had an epiphany last week about my plot. There was one part which was weakest. It wasn't *bad*, per se, but the action was pretty much nonexistent, there was one small twist, and little emotional investment.

It was a weak link in my chain.

But I was writing before bed last week, just exploring ideas, and I started pulling at a thread of an idea...

...and it just kept coming, and coming, and it wove itself in front of me. I don't know why I didn't think of it before.

Also, it fleshed out the civilization of my side-kick fairly well, I think. I hadn't thought much of where he came from and what his people were like until last week (the scene I can't put down has to do with him, and where he came from).

My side-kick also now has another interesting facet to his character, and an interesting story in his past (which I doubt I will ever fully explain, but it is fun to hint at).

Also, I am an uber-dork. :) Just reading all that makes me realize this.

I should have known I was a dork when I used to make up cultures and civilizations back in high school.

Enough! Back to writing now.

.

Rosie.

Before&After