Props shop adventures
November 18, 2008 - 9:24 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I spent the day at the props shop in the theatre across the street.

It was really nice. I like working with different people. The designer for their show is a beautiful, beautiful man, and, I am told, entirely too gay for me.

*sigh!*

Why are they always gay or married?

Anyway, I walked in, and Lillian approached me.

"I have some bad news, and some bad news," she said.

"Oh?"

"Yeah. Brenna--" Who I was supposed to be working under today-- "--has cut her hand badly and went home. So you're working under me."

"I hope she's okay," I say. "What the other bad news?"

Lillian pulls out another bow, one that has not yet been covered in leather.

I bang my head against the work table a couple times.

Brenna had PROMISED me she wouldn't have any more bows for me to cover, after I'd done four.

"They broke one," Lillian explains. "Blame it on the actors."

I sigh. I rail against actors. I swear. I shake my fist in the direction of the rehearsal hall.

Damned actors. Tossing my props around. They actually managed to shatter the tip of one of the bows. Probably either dry firing it (without an arrow) or dropping it on the tip.

Bastards.

Anyway, I spend the morning doing that. I am pretty swift at it, now. It helped to have a good tall work table to work at, and all the proper tools close at hand.

The afternoon and into the evening was entirely cutting fabric.

Grab a bolt or a folded piece, shake it out over the table, check to see how many 34"x6' pieces I can get out of it.

Snip, snip, snip.

The backs of my legs are sore from leaning way over the table all day. But on the bright side, I've almost cut all over them. They need thirty of them. Thirty!

When I left off at the end of the day, I think I had about twenty five. Close, so close.

I would have pushed through, but Lillian wanted to go home. I was the last person she was waiting for before she shut down the shop.

She tried to send me home early because I was sick.

I told her I was fine to work (I'm just coughing a bit, and my voice is slowly recovering).

It took me about ten minutes to realize she just wanted to leave.

She finally kicked me out a little early, but I didn't mind. I'm almost finished those damned banners, and I'm coming back tomorrow.

All in all, it was a Good Day.

Now? Now it's time for NyQuil and bed, I think. I have no poetry in me tonight.

.

Rosie.

Before&After