A nice night, a bruised heart.
December 12, 2008 - 9:06 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I went to see Mousetrap last night, with Alex.

I know I shouldn't have.

But I had a moment of weakness.

We went to the play. It was a very good play. I was well satisfied with everything.

Well, everything but the elderly guy sitting next to me, who took out his false teeth and promptly fell asleep, sliding his elbow into my side.

By the second act, the gentleman has still not moved his elbows (though he was awake now).

I mentioned this, in a low voice, to Alex, and we promptly got to laughing about DateJab Inc: We Use Unfortunate Seating Arrangements, Sudden Screaming, and Chilly Rooms to Your Dating Advantage!

I had a very nice time. Alex invited me back to his place, and I was very (secretly) glad I had a prior engagement, meeting Scott (Allison's significant other) at the theatre bar for drinkies.

So Alex headed home after a hug, and I was safe from his tempting charms again. (Good thing, too. Looks like he's gotten back together with his ex, and although he's poly, I don't know him well enough to be comfortable as a secondary.)

So drinkies with Scott turned out to be drinkies with Scott, Allison, James, Ian, Jenny, and Ulf.

Hooray!

It was weird to have my non-theatre friends in my theatre drinking hole. Still, the owner was kind and gave us the theatre discount (because of me, partially, I think, and because we drank a whole lot).

The owner is a cutie. I wish he'd say more than two words together.

The manager is a cutie, too! And he talks to me more.

I went to dinner there before the show, too, all dolled up. The manager was sitting at the bar doing paperwork when I went up to pay, and I swear his eyebrows hit his hairline.

"You look very nice," he said.

"Thanks!" I replied, tossing my hair. "I bathed."

"Aah," he said, then narrowed his eyes at the waitress who was ringing me up. "I wish MY staff would do that sometimes."

The waitress rolled her eyes and snorted. "Yeah, like THAT's gonna happen!"

Another reason I like drinking there is the attitude. It's awesome. (Also, everyone who's working there *wants* to work there. They've kept almost the exact same staff in the whole time I've lived here. Almost all of them know what I like drinking.)

All in all, a good night.

Only, I wish my heart wasn't so soft.

It feels bruised.

Mostly whole, but bruised.

Ah well.

.

Rosie.

Before&After