Depression and Cheese
September 26, 2009 - 10:06 a.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

I am feeling better today.

Well, I started feeling better yesterday.

I had almost decided not to go to archery practice, partially because I was feeling depressed and wanted to hide in my hole, and partially because I'm trying not to spend money.

Also, my regular ride to archery wasn't going.

But then James popped up and offered a ride, so rather than explain I was depressed and feeling sorry for myself, I decided to go.

Didn't shoot much. I *did* end up shooting Royal Round of 63, which was okay. I was hoping for above 70, but still. That's better than I've been shooting lately.

But afterward James, Rosa and I skipped out on the usual post-archery bar and went down to the Hop, downtown.

I had a quesadilla with chicken. I love their quesadillas. Best I've had in the city, I think, and they're nice and cheap.

Also, a McNally's Reserve. I like it better than Guinness (but then, I've never had Guinness straight from the source, so that might easily change).

My mood was significantly improved by both excellent company and excellent consumables.

~

I discovered that the milk I'd bought for cheesemaking was set to expire, so I hurried to it, even though I don't have a cheese press yet.

I figured I'd just make another fresh cheese, in the same fashion that I made the goat cheese (which turned out well, by the way).

I heated the milk, added the starter (buttermilk that's been left out for eight hours), and the rennet.

By the time I'd come home from archery practice, it had set beautifully. I sliced it into cubes, and tossed it in cheesecloth/colander.

It drained super fast. I had to stay nearby to toss out the liquid so it wouldn't be sitting in it.

Once the bulk of the whey had drained, I tied up the cheesecloth and hung it from the cupboard to drain overnight.

Today I am going on a magical thrift store adventure with Mark. Hopefully I will find something I can make a cheese press out of.

In actuality, I should have warmed the curds and whey a couple times in the oven and skimmed the whey off before tossing it in the cheesecloth.

But my time was limited, and I wasn't sure I'd have a press by the time I needed one, so I just decided to go soft goat cheese style.

Anyway.

I gotta go check on it this morning, eat a couple eggs, and put some clothes on, possibly in that order.

Cheeeeeeeese...

.

Rosie.

Before&After