Thift store adventures
September 27, 2009 - 3:59 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

My thrift store adventure with Mark was pretty awesome. We went to a billion different stores. A BILLION.

I got four jars for organizing my kitchen (including one large air-tight one for my brown sugar), a fuzzy green blanket, a wire puzzle for Kelly, a flower candle holder for my alter, and a wide, shallow blue bowl.

Mark got more than I did, but not by much. I didn't come out with any clothes, but he turned up with three button down short-sleeved shirts that he likes so well.

We went to the Asian mall for food court sushi (best food court sushi in the city, and way cheaper, too), and to hit the T&T market.

I picked up some quail eggs (never tried 'em), pork buns (OMNOMNOM) and oolong tea.

Oh, delicious pork buns. How I dream of thee...

We went back to his place for a movie, a beer, and some dinner. He made pork and portabello mushroom skewers, and stir fry over noodles. It was, as Mark's cooking always is, fantastic.

There was Pocky for dessert. (NO LAUGHING.)

I brought along The Imposters (Stanley Tucci, Oliver Platt, a million faces you'd know), which I'd been meaning to make him watch forever, and made him watch it.

Needless to say, he loved it, like I thought he would.

I slept in his spare room (under my amazing fuzzy green blanket), we went to Phil's for breakfast, and then he drove me home.

Gareth popped by this afternoon, too, to give me some of his old shelving units and his old tv.

IT'S HUGE.

As someone who has had a 13" tv for the last five years, it's a little overwhelming.

I had them next to each other as I was clearing off space on top of my tv stand, and it looked a little ridiculous. I almost took a picture of it, but then I thought, why do I need a picture of two televisions?

I think I must make something for Gareth and Steph to show them how grateful I am.

But what?

That is the question.

I could always make Gareth another tunic. I made him one before when he made me a set of arrows.

I'm still pretty proud of that tunic. Rectangular construction, neutral linen, all hand-stitched, bands of simple, period embroidery around the hem and neckline. I did a little emblem of an arrow at the heck, too, because he loves the archery.

I know he requires a woolen tunic, so perhaps I'll make him one. Only problem is, he's lost about twenty pounds, and the measurements I have for him won't be very accurate anymore...

Hmm. Well, shoulder measurements should still be fairly accurate, as well as length of torso. Stomach measurement will be entirely different, though, and the chest will be a little different, I think.

Still, tunics are good with a little space you can belt in. The extra air adds warmth.

But what to make for Steph, then? I have no idea. Also, her birthday is approaching.

Can't make baked goods. She's trying to lose weight (and apparently being really successful at it, so I don't want to wreck that). I don't know her measurements at all.

Damn! This will require some thought.

In the meantime, I shall go spend another quality day on the couch in my underpants, swearing at Donkey Kong Country 2.

.

Rosie.

Before&After