Working and partying
October 16, 2009 - 12:14 p.m.

c
c

c
c
c

c

c

c

Oh, how I ache.

I worked a concert with a three tiered stage, the highest point being about twelve feet.

On top of that, I tweaked something in my back the day before, so I was overcompensating with everything else.

It was weird: I was on the train, reaching for my book, and suddenly I had a pain under my left breast.

I thought it might have been my underwire pinching something, so I tried rearranging my clothes, but it didn't help at all.

I couldn't pull full breaths from the pain, and I couldn't move certain ways without extreme, muscle-spasming pain.

When I got to work (thank goodness it was only props work; it doesn't require a lot of physicality) I loosened my bra, and found a stiff backed chair.

It got so bad at one point that I was having trouble walking. I could only take very short, stiff steps, because swinging my legs out twisted my hips and back.

As the day progressed the pain did too, migrating around my ribcage and settling into one of the supporting muscles in my back.

It was strange. I could feel the exact muscle in my back that was affected.

That night I went to sleep with a hot water bottle balanced on my back, right over the muscle in question.

The next morning was early; concerts always load in very early.

My back ached, and I still couldn't take full breaths, but it was better than it had been.

Ergo, I spent the whole day using my legs to lift everything.

And I do mean everything.

Screwdriver on the floor?

I was squatting to pick it up, instead of simply bending over.

The guys on the crew were very understanding, and let me take one of the two jobs that didn't require any bending over or really heavy lifting.

(I was on cart duty; I made sure the loose deck pieces didn't fall over or the cart roll away as the guys lifted the enormous deck pieces off. We were also on the sweet-baby-jesus-don't-let-the-cart-tip-over duty, as the carts had a tendency to flip when one half of them had been offloaded.)

The head of our crew was nice. I say this because it's not that common. Usually roadies are tense, stressed, hurried and harried, and have a tendency to be condescending and irritable.

They also yell a lot.

I can't really blame them. The rigs that come through are enormous, and there's a lot of stupid people who get sent to help them.

This guy was good, though. He directed and did very little of the actual work himself (a good thing! You need someone who always knows what's going on, and isn't distracted).

Once the frame under the stage was up, and the first few decks on, he got up on top with his allan key and locked them all together while still directing.

Anyway.

I'm having my birthday party today. I don't know if anyone will show up. I have had a lot of 'well, maybe's.

Well, I expect SOMEONE will show up.

I'm making some food for it.

Not a whole lot.

I'm doing a platter of crudities with dip and hummus, small salmon tarlets with lime, bread twists with romano, and strawberries with a cream cheese/cinnamon dip.

I think that's all.

Oh! Also a simple plate with them rice stuffed vine leaves, pickles, and olives.

And a bowl of punch.

I think that's all.

In any case, I'll have a lot of healthy(ish) leftovers.

I may make some shortbread, too, depending on how much time I have, because Wilma really likes it.

I like parties.

I should get to it.

.

Rosie.

Before&After